The only two Final Fours that haven't featured a No. 1 seed eventually crowned a No. 3 seed as the champion. The 2006 Florida Gators and the 2011 Connecticut Huskies hold that distinction and both won their opening round against the No. 14 seed by double digits.

Year Winner Loser Score Margin
2006 Florida South Alabama 76-50 26
2011 Connecticut Bucknell 81-52 29

Overall, the No. 3 seed is 104-20 in the first round, and only five No. 3 seeds in the past 10 years have failed to advanced to the second round, with a pair occurring for the first time since 1986 in last year's tournament. The 2015 tournament also marked the third consecutive where at least one No. 3 suffered an upset. 

Know your seed
No. 1 No. 9
No. 2 No. 10
No. 3 No. 11
No. 4 No. 12
No. 5 No. 13
No. 6 No. 14
No. 7 No. 15
No. 8 No. 16
Four programs have been seeded third five times: Michigan, Duke, Syracuse and Pittsburgh. The Blue Devils are the only team of the group to lose a game in the three spot with their loss to Mercer in 2014. Both Michigan and Syracuse have won national championships as the No. 3 seed, the Wolverines in 1989 and the Orange in 2003. In those years, Michigan escaped Xavier in the opening round by five points, while the Orange easily cruised to a 77-63 win over Manhattan.

Michigan needed extra time to defeat fellow No. 3 seed Seton Hall in the 1989 championship game. The Wolverines came away with a 80-79 victory thanks to clutch free throws made by Rumael Robinson in the final seconds. Syracuse defeated Kansas in the 2003 national championship behind the stellar 20-point, 10-rebound performance by Carmelo Anthony.

One of the lowest scoring first round games in tournament history occurred between No. 3 Kansas and No. 14 Ohio in the 1985 tournament. While the Jayhawks won by 11, the teams combined for only 87 points. Since that game, 1995 Purdue is the only other No. 3 seed that has failed to score at least 50 against a No. 14 seed.