Top Events

Sept. 16 -- No. 2 Wisconsin Badgers at Orange and Blue Preview in Champaign, Ill. (DI)

Sept. 16 -- No. 9 Florida State Seminoles at Clemson Invitational/Pre ACC Meet in Clemson, S.C. (DI)

Sept. 16 -- No. 3 Grand Valley State Lakers at Spartan Invitational in East Lansing, Mich. (DII)

Sept. 17 -- No. 3 St. Lawrence Saints at Saratoga Invitational in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. (DIII)

Sept. 17 -- No. 1 Adams State Grizzlies at Colorado College Invitational in Colorado Springs, Colo. (DII)

Sept. 17 -- No. 4 Iona Gaels at Doyle Meet of Champions in New Rochelle, N.Y. (DI)

Watch Them Now

Leonard Korir

Key Notes: Korir, who is a two-time national champion and five-time All-American, finshed in fifth place at last year's NCAA championship meet for the Gaels. The senior is Iona's record holder for both the indoor 5K and outdoor 10K events. Korir, a native of Kenya, is also a key contributor to both the indoor and outdoor track and field squads.

Other Runners to Watch

Division I: Wisconsin's Mohammed Ahmed, Wisconsin's Maverick Darling, Florida State's David Forrester, Florida State's Mike Fout, Indiana's Andrew Poore and Arizona's Stephen Sambu.

Division II: Edinboro's Scott Anderson, Grand Valley State's Tyler Emmorey, Adams State's Craig Huffer, Massachusetts-Lowell's Jeff Veiga and Grand Valley State's Anthony Witt.

Division III: North Central (Ill.)'s Tim Herd, St. Lawrence's John Johnston, North Central (Ill.)'s Neal Klein, Calvin's Nick Kramer, St. Lawrence's Steve Kiplagat and Calvin's Alex Wrobel.

Keep Your Eyes on This

• Division I: No. 4 Iona gets its 2011 campaign under way this weekend as the No. 4 Gaels compete at the Doyle Meet of Champions on Saturday in New Rochelle, N.Y.

• Division II: No. 3 Grand Valley State is taking a step up in competition on Friday as it competes with several Division I schools at the Spartan Invitational in East Lansing, Mich.

• Division III: Four of the top five teams in the latest USTFCCCA poll will be competing this weekend as No. 1 North Central (Ill.), No. 3 St. Lawrence, No. 4 Washington-St. Louis and No. 5 Calvin take to the course.