Brackets: Interactive Printable

INDIANAPOLIS --The NCAA Division I Field Hockey Committee announced Tuesday the field of 16 teams for the 2012 NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship. Five conferences were awarded automatic qualification. In addition, six conferences competed for three play-in berths and the remaining eight teams were selected at large.

America East Conference Albany
Atlantic Coast Conference North Carolina
Big East Conference Connecticut
Big Ten Conference Pennsylvania State
Colonial Athletic Association Drexel 

The teams winning the play-in berths were Massachusetts from the Atlantic 10 Conference, Princeton from The Ivy League and Stanford from the Northern Pacific Field Hockey Conference.

The remaining eight teams that were selected at large are as follows: Iowa, Lafayette, Maryland, Michigan, Northeastern, Old Dominion, Syracuse and Virginia.

The first- and second-round games will be played on four campus sites Nov. 10-11. Old Dominion will host the semifinals and final Friday, Nov. 16, and Sunday, Nov. 18, at Powhatan Sports Complex in Norfolk, Va. 

In 2011, Maryland claimed its eighth (and second consecutive) NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship title with a 3-2 overtime victory against North Carolina at Trager Stadium in Louisville, Ky.