The majority of college football's top awards were announced Dec. 8 as part of the College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Fla. Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was among the big winners, taking home the Maxwell and Walter Camp awards as the national player of the year. 

Among the major awards, a total of 21 awards are part of the NCFAA, National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which was formed in 1997 as a coalition of major collegiate football awards. The NCFAA provides a governance system to encourage "professionalism and the highest standards possible for the administration of college football awards and the selection of their winners."

The Heisman Memorial Trophy, given to the nation's most outstanding player since Jay Berwanger of the University of Chicago won the first award in 1935, was presented on Dec. 10 to Robert Griffin III (Baylor). Luck, who was joined as finalists by Montee Ball (Wisconsin), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU) and Trent Richardson (Alabama), was the runner-up for the second consecutive year.

Major Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Awards
Award Watch List Presented to Winner Named 2011 Winner, School
Bednarik Award College defensive player of the year Dec. 8 Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
Biletnikoff Award Nation's most outstanding receiver Dec. 8 Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State
Broyles Award Nation's most outstanding assistant coach Dec. 6 John Chavis, LSU
Butkus Award Nation's most outstanding linebacker Dec. 4 Luke Kuechly, Boston College
Walter Camp Award Nation's most outstanding player Dec. 8 Andrew Luck, Stanford
William V. Campbell Trophy Nation's top collegiate scholar-athlete Dec. 6 Andrew Rodriguez, Army
Lou Groza Award Nation's most outstanding place-kicker Dec. 8 Randy Bullock, Texas A&M
Ray Guy Award Nation's most outstanding punter Dec. 8 Ryan Allen, Louisana Tech
Heisman Memorial Trophy Nation's most outstanding player Dec. 10 Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Lombardi Award College lineman of the year Dec. 7 Luke Kuechly, Boston College
John Mackey Award Nation's most outstanding tight end Dec. 8 Dwayne Allen, Clemson
Maxwell Award College player of the year Dec. 8 Andrew Luck, Stanford
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Nation's most outstanding defensive player Dec. 12 Luke Kuechly, Boston College
Davey O'Brien Award Nation's best quarterback Dec. 8 Robert Griffin III, Baylor
Outland Trophy Nation's most outstanding interior lineman Dec. 8 Barrett Jones, Alabama
Rimington Trophy Nation's most outstanding center Dec. 8 David Molk, Michigan
Eddie Robinson Award National coach of the year Dec. 15 Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
Spirit Award College football's most inspirational team Dec. 8 Alabama Crimson Tide
Jim Thorpe Award Nation's most outstanding defensive back Dec. 8 Morris Claiborne, LSU
Johny Unitas Award Nation's top college quarterback Dec. 5 Andrew Luck, Stanford
Doak Walker Award Nation's most outstanding running back Dec. 8 Trent Richardson, Alabama