Jan. 26, 2009

Courtesy of UNC Wilmington Athletics

WILMINGTON, N.C. – Just over a decade after staging one of the most successful women’s golf championships in collegiate athletics, UNC Wilmington and the Country Club of Landfall have been awarded the 2010 NCAA Women’s Golf Championships, the NCAA has announced.

The 29th annual event will be held May 18-21, 2010, on CCL’s Pete Dye Course, the same layout that hosted the 1995 affair won by Arizona State over San Jose State.

“This is very exciting news for everyone,” said Kelly Mehrtens, UNCW’s athletic director. “It will be a wonderful opportunity for us to not only showcase UNCW, but the Country Club of Landfall and our beautiful community as well.

“The championship was highly successful in the early 90’s because of the unique partnership of UNCW, the members of the Country Club of Landfall and the Wilmington community. It will take that kind of team effort once again to make this another tournament to remember.”

A select number of teams will be invited to compete in the NCAA Fall Preview on Oct. 23-25 at the Pete Dye Course. The tournament, used as a test run for the national event in the spring, will cause a one-year hiatus of The Landfall Tradition, the annual premier men’s and women’s tournament at CCL.

The three regional sites for the 2010 tournament will be Otter Creek Golf Club (Central/Indiana University), Ironwood Country Club (East/East Carolina) and Stanford Golf Course (West/Stanford University). They will be played May 6-8, 2010, leading up to the finals in Wilmington.

The 2009 NCAA Women’s Golf Championships will be held at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md., and hosted by Georgetown University.