The NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Committee has announced the seven teams selected for the 2011 NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship. Of the seven teams selected, five of the teams received automatic qualification berths as winners of their conference championship. Two institutions were selected from Pool C, which consists of institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that were not the conference champion.

Conferences that Received Automatic Qualification
Conferences School
ECAC DIII Women’s East Hockey League Manhattanville College
ECAC DIII Women’s West Hockey League Rochester Institute of Technology
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus College
New England Small College Athletic Conference Middlebury College
Northern Collegiate Hockey Association Adrian College

The two at-large selections are Norwich University and the University of Wisconsin, River Falls.

Three first-round games will be played at campus sites March 11, 12 or 13. Dates and times for these games will be announced on Monday.  

Based on Division III bracketing principles, teams are paired in the bracket based on minimizing the number of flights and avoiding conference match-ups in first-round games. Following the first-round games, the host for the semifinals, third-place game and finals will be determined based on the seed of the four participating teams and minimization of flights. The three winners of the first-round games and the team that received a first-round bye will play in the semifinals March 18, and the finals and third-place game will be held March 19. The semifinals, third-place game and finals will be streamed live on 

In 2010, Amherst defeated Norwich in St. Peter, Minn., to win its second consecutive Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship title. Only four institutions (Amherst, Elmira College, Middlebury and Plattsburgh State) have won the NCAA Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Championship.

School Number of Appearances* Last Appearance
*Includes 2011 appearance
Adrian First ---
Gustavus Adolphus 9 2010
Manhattanville 8 2008
Middlebury 9 2009
Norwich 3 2010
Rochester Institute of Technology 2 2007
Wisconsin-River Falls 4 2010