Nov. 23, 2009

Courtesy of Lynchburg Athletics

SAN ANTONIO, TX - The underdog Lynchburg College women's soccer team will make its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Division III Tournament's Final Four after advancing on penalty kicks over host Trinity University in the Elite Eight. The game was knotted 1-1 after two overtime periods and the contest will remain a tie in the record books, but the Hornets won the penalty kick shootout 4-2 to advance.

Trinity's Abigail Loar opened the scoring after a corner kick at the 13:26 mark of the first half, assisted by Jordan Azar. Hornet goalie Anna Wright (Ashland, VA/Patrick Henry) was injured on the play, replaced for the remainder of the game by freshman Audrey Moore (pictured left - Clifton, VA/Centreville), who had seen just 90 minutes in goal all season. Senior midfielder Ashley Hoath (Alexandria, VA/Mount Vernon) knotted the score at one at 36:17 with an unassisted goal, and neither team could get on the scoreboard through the remainder of regulation or either 10-minute overtime period.

Trinity took a 1-0 edge in the penalty-kick shootout, but after that it was all Hornets. Amy Krause (Chesapeake, VA/Great Bridge), Dani Crotty (Mason, OH/Mason) and Katie Santos (Cheltenham, MD/Bishop Ireton) all converted their chances, and Moore made two saves, setting up Brittany Klippstein (Springfield, VA/West Springfield) to score and send LC into the Final Four via the 4-2 PK victory.

Lynchburg (17-3-4) was out-shot by the Tigers 15-10, but LC held a 6-5 advantage in corner kicks. Wright made one stop in her 13 plus minutes in goal, while Moore was un-scored upon in her 96:34 between the pipes, making two stops, not including her two denials of Tiger penalty kicks. Katie Garrett made three saves for Trinity, which ends its season at 18-0-1.

The Hornets will return to San Antonio in two weekends to face Washington-St. Louis Friday, Dec. 4 at a time to be determined. The College of New Jersey and Messiah College (PA) will do battle in the other Final Four match-up, with the title game set for 2 p.m. on Saturday, December 5.