Nov. 8, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA Division II Womens Soccer Committee today announced the field of 48 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division II Womens Soccer Championship. Each of the eight regions received six championship berths. Twenty automatic berths are awarded for the Division II championship.

For first- and second-round competition, teams will be paired in their respective regions with the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed; and the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 seed Friday, November 12. The winner of the No.4/5 seed game will advance to play the No. 1 seed and the winner of the No. 3/6 seed game will play the No. 2 seed on Sunday, November 14. The West region sites will play first-round games on Thursday, November 11 and its second round games on Saturday, November 13. All games will be played on the campus of a participating institution and will consist of two sites per region. The two finalists in each region will advance to the third- and quarterfinal round competition to be played Friday, November 19 and Sunday, November 21. The semifinals and championship games will be played and December 2 and 4 at Bellarmine University in Louisville, Kentucky.

In the 2009 NCAA Division II Women's Soccer national championship game Grand Valley State won the women's soccer championship 1-0 over Cal State Dominguez Hills.

Click here for the Championship Bracket Get Acrobat Reader