INDIANAPOLIS – Late Thursday, a tired but happy Eph head coach Steve Kuster mentioned that his women's 800 freestyle relay was looking forward to making a run at that title on Friday night, despite having a seed time of 7:29.10, fourth best.

The Eph 800 freestyle relay of Sarah Thompson, Logan Todhunter, Carolyn Geller and anchor Caroline Wilson lived up to their promise and not only made a run at the title, but won it, setting a  meet record – 7:18.15. The previous meet record stood at 7:19.11.


In 2006, Emory freshman swimmer Madeleine Brown died after being found unresponsive in the school's pool. Now, Emory draws motivation and character from Brown's spirit.

Complete story, click here

Day 3 Results
Full Day 3 Replay: Men  Women
Day 2 Results
Full Day 2 Replay: Men  Women
Day 2 Highlights: Men Women
Day 1 Results
Full Day 1 Replay: Men  Women

Freshman Sarah Thompson started the Ephs off with a slight lead and standout Logan Todhunter built that lead slightly for Carolyn Geller who took over for the third leg. At one point Emory made a determined run at the Ephs and Geller, but Geller was able to turn over a 2/10 of a second lead to Caroline Wilson who took it from there. Topping off the record-breaking effort, Wilson's last split was a blistering 27.63 to lock up the title and the meet record.

Todhunter boosted her overall NCAA title total to 13 with the win and Wilson now boasts a total of nine with seven individual titles.

Todhunter's 11 individual NCAA titles ties her with Patricia Abt and Carla Ainsworth, both of Kenyon, for most ever in NCAA Division III.

Senior Logan Todhunter won her fourth consecutive 200 butterfly title and in the process broke her own meet record by nearly two full seconds recording a scorching 1:55.66. In 2010 Todhunter had completed the 200 yards in 1:57.46.

Todhunter never trailed in the race and won by nearly three seconds as she just seemed to get stronger and stronger with each trip up and down the pool.

The Ephs also claimed fourth and fifth in the 200 butterfly championship final with Kelsey Roggensack taking fourth in 2:02.83 and Bonnie Patchen coming in 5th in 2:03.50.

The Ephs had five entrants in the 200 butterfly morning prelims in Logan Todhunter, Kathryn Ha, Katherine O'Leary, Kelsey Roggensack, and Bonnie Patchen. Four of the five Ephs advanced to the night finals with three in the championship finals and one in the consolation final.

Logan Todhunter entered the morning prelims with the second fastest time this season (2:00.91). Hannah Saiz of Kenyon was the top seed owning a time of 2:00.27.

Todhunter finished her morning prelim in 1:58.45 establishing the fastest morning time. Todhunter entered having won the 200 fly three years in a row and in 2010 set a meet record of 1:57.46. Saiz of Kenyon had the second fastest prelim time, but was 1.27 behind Todhunter.

Swimming in the same morning heat with Todhunter were teammates Katherine O'Leary and Kelsey Roggensack. Roggensack put together a strong morning effort and moved up from her seed of 11th to claim third place and advance to the championship finals. She was clocked in 2:03.28.

O'Leary entered with the 20th fastest seedtime and finished in 2:07.33 and in 19th place.

Senior Bonnie Patchen had an even larger improvement with her morning swim as she entered with the 18th-fastest seed time and jumped all the way up to fifth with a time of 2:04.13, clipping 2.24 off her season best.

With one more day of competition left, the Ephs remain in second place with 356 points, trailing Emory, which has amassed 436 points.

1 Emory 348
2 Williams 261
3 Denison 230
4 Kenyon 164
5 Stevens 115
6 College of N.J. 108
7 Claremont Mudd-Scripps 77
8 Johns Hopkins 75
9 MIT 68
10 Gustavus 64
11 Springfield 51
12 Grove City 35
13 Rowan 34
T14 UW-LaCrosse 28
T14. Amherst 28
T16 Washington University 24
T17 Tufts 21
T18 St. Olaf 18
T19 Ithaca 17
T19 Baldwin Wallace 17
T21 Nazareth 16
T22 Washington & Jefferson 15
T22 Trinity (Texas) 15
T24 UW-Eau Claire 14
T25 Westminster 13
T25 Kalamazoo 13
T25 Hamilton 13
T28 Redlands 11
T29 Wooster 10
T30 Clark 9
T31 UW-Stevens Point 8
T31 Wittenberg 8
T33 Swarthmore 7
T33 Wellesley 7
T35 SUNY Fredonia 6
36 St. Thomas 5
T37 Hope 4
T37 SUNY Geneseo 4
T37 Westfield State 4
T40 Lake Forest 2
T40 Puget Sound 2
T42 Illinois Wesleyan 1