UC Santa Cruz 4, Middlebury 1

May 20, 2005

The UC Santa Cruz Slugs are the 2005 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Champions. On a beautiful day in Santa Cruz, the Slugs brought back the National Championship, the first in 6 years and their 5th overall.

The UCSC doubles team stepped up to the plate once again, winning all 3 doubles points in the Championships this year. At the No. 2 doubles, seniors Kevin Casey and Kellen Alli-Christie defeated all three of their opponents and clinched the doubles point against Emory in the semi's and today in the finals.

In the singles matches UCSC got their second point early on after Geore Mayer at the No. 5 had to retire due to injury. Andrew Cohen won the first set and the match 6-3. UCSC was up a set in the No. 1, No.2, and No. 4 singles, but Alex Scott kept Middlebury's hopes alive with a 7-5, 6-0 victory over Kellen Alli-Chrisitie at No. 6.

All eyes then turned to courts 1 and 2 as the Slugs held commanding 4-1 and 5-0 leads over the Panthers. At No. 1, Matt Seeberger, last year Singles champion, was first to put away his opponent with a 6-2 second set victory.

Moments later Senior Kevin Casey (ITA West Region Senior Player of the Year) won his 16th straight match and clinched the National Championship with his 6-2, 6-1 victory over Ari Beilin.

This marks the only the 3rd time in NCAA DIII Tennis Championship history that the host institution has won the National Title.

This is the 5th National Title for Bob Hansen in his 23 yr career here at UCSC.

No. 1 Matt Seeberger UCSC def. Brian Waldron MID 6-3, 6-2
No. 2 Kevin Casey UCSC def. Ari Beilin MID 6-2, 6-1
No. 3 Shane Templeman UCSC vs. Nate Edmunds MID abandoned
No. 4 Andrew Cohen UCSC def. George Mayer MID 6-3, ret.
No. 5 Matt Brunner UCSC vs. Salih Unsal MID abandoned
No. 6 Alex Scott MID def. Kellen Alli-Christie UCSC 7-5, 6-0

No. 1 Matt Brunner UCSC def. Justin Ingoglia MID 8-5
Matt Seeberger George Mayer
No. 2 Kevin Casey UCSC def. Ari Beilin MID 8-3
Kellen Alli-Christie Alex Scott
No. 3 Bryce Parmelly UCSC vs. Andy Bryan MID abandoned
Andrew Cohen Roy Bryan

-- Courtesy UCSC