INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Committee has selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2011 NCAA Division III Championships.

The individual championships consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on won-lost record, strength of schedule and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The team championship will be held May 24-26, and the singles and doubles championships will be held May 27-29. The finals will be held at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Pomona-Pitzer Colleges. 

Any singles player or doubles team that scratches from the tournament will be replaced by the next individual or doubles team from their region.

The draw for the individual championships will be done by the men’s and women’s tennis committees and will be released on the last day of the team championships. 

The 2010 singles title went to John Watts of Washington U. in St. Louis. Brian Pybas and Marc Vartabedian of UC-Santa Cruz took the doubles title. The team final was won by Middlebury as it defeated Amherst 5-1.

Singles Qualifiers (Alphabetical by school)
Player, School Player, School
Mark Kahan, Amherst Paul Burgin, Kenyon
Luis Rattenhuber, Amherst Jeremy Polster, Kenyon
Matt Bettles, Bates Kaz Murata, Mary Washington
Stephen Sullivan, Bowdoin Andy Peters, Middlebury
Andrew Giuffrida, Cal Lutheran Sam Sweeney, North Central
Erich Koenig, UC-Santa Cruz Tommy Meyer, Pomona-Pitzer
Brian Pybas, UC-Santa Cruz Cameron Spearman, Redlands
Alex Lane, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Anson McCook, Trinity (Conn.)
William Zhang, Chicago Bobby Cocanougher, Trinity (Texas)
Eric Shulman, Christopher Newport Max Frey, Trinity (Texas)
Nicholas Garcia, Dubuque Andrew Guzick, Vassar
Colin Egan, Emory Hayden White, Washington and Lee
Chris Goodwin, Emory Adam Cranford, Washington (Md.)
Dillon Pottish, Emory Isaac Stein, Washington U. in St. Louis
Juan Carlos Perez-Borja, Grinnell Max Woods, Washington U. in St. Louis
Andrew Wang, Johns Hopkins Felix Sun, Williams
Singles Alternates
Region Player, School
Atlantic South Alex Nemerov, Carnegie Mellon
Central Amrik Donkena, Gustavus Adolphus
Northeast Nick White, Brandeis
West Alex Johnson, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Doubles Qualifiers (Alphabetical by school)
Players, School Players, School
Luis Rattenhuber/Austin Chafetz, Amherst Jeremy Polster/C.J. Williams, Kenyon
Wes Waterman/Moritz Koenig, Amherst Kaz Murata/Riley Baver, Mary Washington
Stephen Sullivan/Oscar Pena, Bowdoin Antti Saari/Robert Kjelberg, North Carolina Wesleyan
Brian Pybas/Parker Larson, UC-Santa Cruz Andy Peters/Brantner Jones, Middlebury
Zhenya Pereverzin/Ronald Wu, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Cameron Spearman/Jeff Casserd, Redlands
Tyler Cempre/Matt McErlean, Denison Bobby Cocanaugher/Cory Kowal, Trinity (Texas)
Chris Goodwin/Will Humphreys, Emory Isaac Stein/Max Woods, Washington U. in St. Louis
Casey Blythe/Jacob Barnaby, Johns Hopkins Byron Balkin/Mitch Osborne, Wisconsin-Whitewater
Doubles Alternates
Region Players, School
Atlantic South Nottage/Daniel Barnas, Salisbury
Central Dmitriy Glumov/Juan Carlos Perez-Borja, Grinnell
Northeast Robert Crampton/Matt Bettles, Bates
West Frankie Allinson/Tommy Meyer, Pomona-Pitzer