May 10, 2010

Live BracketPrintable Bracket


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee has selected the 48 teams that will compete in the 2010 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament with the first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 14-16 or May 13-15. The University of Mary Washington will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 25-27 at the Battleground Tennis Complex in Fredericksburg, Virginia. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 12.

The championship provides for a 48-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 36 conference champions, which form "Pool A." Four teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification:

American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler (16-3)
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington (15-7)
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins (15-8)
City University of New York Athletic Conference Hunter (12-1)
College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin Wheaton (Illinois) (17-4)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Gwynedd-Mercy (17-2)
Commonwealth Conference Elizabethtown (15-4)
Empire 8 Ithaca (15-4)
Freedom Conference Wilkes (15-4)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Simmons (12-6)
Great South Athletic Conference Agnes Scott (11-7)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania (12-2)
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther (25-5)
Landmark Conference Drew (12-3)
Little East Conference Western Connecticut State (13-2)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Calvin (17-3)
Midwest Conference St. Norbert (8-7)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Gustavus Adolphus (20-4)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Amherst (17-2)
New England Women's & Men's Athletics Conference Wheaton (Massachusetts) (16-2)
North Coast Athletic Conference Denison (16-4)
North Eastern Athletic Conference Castleton (14-3)
Northern Athletics Conference Edgewood (11-5)
Northwest Conference Whitworth (19-4)
Ohio Athletic Conference Baldwin-Wallace (18-7)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Washington and Lee (18-5)
President's Athletic Conference Grove City (11-2)
Skyline Conference Mount Saint Mary (New York) (18-2)
Southern California Inter. Athletic Conference Pomona-Pitzer (14-3)
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference DePauw (20-4)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster (11-4)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Geneseo (15-2)
The Commonwealth Coast Conference Colby Sawyer (16-1)
University Athletic Association Chicago (20-3)
USA South Athletic Conference Methodist (22-2)
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater (20-4)

The following schools, listed alphabetically, were selected to the championships from Pool B and Pool C candidates:

Chapman (12-4)
The College of New Jersey (15-4)
Skidmore (11-6)
Vassar (18-2)

Bowdoin (9-7)
Redlands (12-9)
Carnegie Mellon (13-7)
Tufts (14-6)
Emory (18-5)
Washington U. in St. Louis (13-5)
Middlebury (13-5)
Williams (18-3)

In the 2009 championships, Williams College defeated Amherst College, 5-2, to claim the team title. For more information about the championships, including a championship bracket, log on to