DI Men's Ice Hockey Champ Info

Champ Logo


Amalie Arena | Tampa Bay, FL | April 6 & 8, 2023

BACK TO DI Men's Ice Hockey Champ Info

Road to the Championship

National Participation
There are 61 NCAA member institutions that sponsor Division I Men’s Ice Hockey teams and are eligible to compete in the National Championship. All 61 programs support approximately 1,800 Men’s Ice Hockey student-athletes across the country.

Selection Process
The 2023 Division I Men’s Hockey Championship provides for a field of 16 teams to compete in a single elimination tournament. Of the 16 teams, 6 conference champions will receive automatic qualification with the remaining best 10 teams being selected on an at-large basis by the Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee. A total of 4 teams will be seeded with each of the seeded teams being placed at 1 regional site.

Selection Show | March 19, 2023
The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship bracket will be announced on Sunday, March 19.

Regionals | March 23-26, 2023
At each site, 4 teams will compete in single-elimination Regional Semifinal competition. The 2 winning teams will then compete against each other in single-elimination Regional Final competition at the same site. The winning team from each of the 4 Regionals will advance to the Men's Frozen Four in Tampa, FL. 

Men's Frozen Four | April 6 & 8, 2023
The 2023 NCAA Division I Men’s Hockey Championship will be held at Amalie Arena in Tampa, FL. The National Semifinals will be held on April 6, 2023.  The National Championship will take place on April 8, 2023. 

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from NCAA.com and our partners