DI Wrestling Champ Info

Champ Logo


BOK Center | Tulsa | March 16-18, 2023

BACK TO DI Wrestling Champ Info

Road to the Championships

National Participation
There are 77 NCAA member institutions that sponsor DI Wrestling and are eligible to compete in the National Championship. All 77 programs support approximately 2,400 Wrestling student-athletes across the country.

Selection Process
A total of 330 wrestlers compete at the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships. Of those 330 spots, 266* of them will be determined via automatic qualification. The remaining 64* spots will be selected at-large by the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee. 
Wrestlers will compete in the following 10 weight classes: 125 pounds, 133 pounds, 141 pounds, 149 pounds, 157 pounds, 165 pounds, 174 pounds, 184 pounds, 197 pounds, Heavyweights (183-285 pounds). The same 10 classes will be used in conference tournaments. Wrestlers can earn automatic qualification to the championships based on place finish at their respective qualifying tournaments, the list of 2022 qualifying tournaments will be added soon. 

*The exact number of student-athletes selected is subject to change.

Selection Show | Wednesday, March 8, 2023
The 2023 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships brackets will be announced Wednesday, March 8. 

National Championship | March 16-18 2023
The 2023 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships will be held at the BOK Center in Tulsa, OK.  A 33-man tournament will be conducted in 10 weight classes (125 pounds, 133, 141, 149, 157, 165, 174, 184, 197 and heavyweight) to crown individual national champions and the top eight finishers in the double-elimination format will be honored as All-Americans. Wrestlers also accumulate points for their institution with every win as they advance through the bracket to decide the team national champion. Wrestlers will compete in seven-minute contests and have to go undefeated over five matches in three days to earn the title of NCAA national champion during the final session on Saturday evening.