Last Updated 4:18 PM, May 30, 2021

Texas wins 2021 DI rowing championship

2021 rowing championship: day three recap
5:57 pm, May 30, 2021

2021 women's rowing championship awards ceremony canceled due to weather

SARASOTA, FLORIDA — The NCAA 2021 Division I Women’s Rowing Championships concluded in true Floridian style, with the team championship on the line, all coming down to the Grand Final of the I Eights. Due to inclement the awards ceremony was not held with fans in suspense of who would be crowned the national champion.

Trophies will be sent to the top three teams in each event, with the team awards going to the top four finishers.  In the Fours event, in third place with a time of 7:07.1, was Texas. In second place, with a time of 7:03.2 was Stanford, and with a time of 7:02.1, was Washington. In the II Eights event, in third place were the Texas Longhorns, with a final time of 6:29; the Stanford Cardinal claimed second with a time of 6:24.4; and in first place, with a time of 6:23.2, were the Washington Huskies. In the I Eights event, in third place was Washington, with a time of 6:21.7. In second place, with a time of 6:18.8, was Stanford, and with a time of 6:17.3 is Texas.

Lastly, the top four teams would have been recognized. In fourth place with 108 points were the Michigan Wolverines, but there was a three-way tie with 126 points between Stanford, Texas and Washington. Ties are broken based on the finish of the I Eights. Therefore, in third place were the Huskies, the national runners-up were the Cardinal and the 2021 national champions were the Longhorns.

5:10 pm, May 30, 2021

Texas wins DI Rowing championship

Texas rowing

Texas is your 2021 DI rowing champion. 

The Longhorns took first in the varsity eight with a time of 6:17.387. Stanford came in second and Washington third. This is the first rowing title for the Longhorns. They were runners-up in 2019.

12:10 pm, May 30, 2021

Day 3 schedule, Day 2 results from the 2021 DI rowing championship

Rutgers rowing

Today is the final day of the 2021 DI rowing championship. This year's championship is being held at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida. For a full list of results through Saturday, click or tap here

All of the action will stream live on The stream for Division I and Division II is shared, so you'll be able to catch all of the action for both. Below is the complete schedule for Day 3.

DI women's rowing Day 3 schedule

If you missed the first two days of competition, video recaps can be found in the links below.

12:05 pm, May 29, 2021

Day 2 of DI rowing championship

Texas women's rowing

The DI rowing championships continue today at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida. This year, all three divisions are competing at the same location, meaning there will be one stream to broadcast all of the action. 

Click or tap here to view the results from day 1.

All of today's action will be streamed right here on The stream will run throughout the morning so you have access to every division's events. It also means you'll be able to see your favorite team compete even if you're tuning in a few minutes behind.

If you missed any action from Friday, you can watch a day 1 recap here

9:30 pm, May 18, 2021

2021 DI rowing championship selections announced

The NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Committee has announced the 22 teams selected to compete in the 2021 NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Championships. To view the full release, click or tap here.

This year's championship will be held May 28-30 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida. The championship field is made up of 10 automatic qualifiers as well as 12 at large selections. Qualifying teams are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

Click or tap here for the complete heat sheet.

The complete seeding for each boat classification is below.

  I Eights   II Eights   Fours
1 Texas 1 Washington 1 Stanford
2 Washington 2 Texas 2 Texas
3 Stanford 3 Virginia 3 Michigan
4 Virginia 4 Stanford 4 Virginia
5 Michigan 5 Michigan 5 Washington
6 Rutgers 6 Ohio State 6 Ohio State
7 Ohio State 7 Rutgers 7 Brown
8 California 8 Brown 8 Duke
9 Princeton 9 Southern Methodist 9 Rutgers
10 Southern Methodist 10 California 10 Princeton
11 Alabama 11 Syracuse 11 Syracuse
12 Duke 12 Duke 12 Washington State
13 Washington State 13 Tennessee 13 Alabama
14 Syracuse 14 Wisconsin 14 California
15 Wisconsin 15 Washington State 15 Tennessee
16 Tennessee 16 Princeton 16 Southern Methodist
17 Brown 17 Alabama 17 Wisconsin
18 Gonzaga 18 Navy 18 Gonzaga
19 Navy 19 Rhode Island 19 Rhode Island
20 Northeastern 20 Northeastern 20 Navy
21 Rhode Island 21 Gonzaga 21 Northeastern
22 Marist 22 Marist 22 Marist
12:11 pm, May 18, 2021

DI Rowing Championship selections announced today by 5 p.m. ET

Washington Athletics Washington won the 2019 championship.

The day is here. Today, Tuesday, May 18, the Division I Rowing Championship selections will be announced by 5 p.m. EDT on The championship finals will take place from May 28-30 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida. Washington defeated Texas, 132-125, in Indianapolis in the 2019 championship.

1:07 pm, May 11, 2021

The DI rowing selections are May 18

Photo by Justin Tafoya/NCAA Photos via Getty Image Washington celebrates its 2019 rowing title.

The field for the 2021 NCAA DI rowing championships will be announced Tuesday, May 18 on

The championship finals are May 28-30 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida. Washington (above) is the defending champion. The Huskies defeated Texas, 132-125, in Indianapolis.

12:57 pm, May 11, 2021

The DI rowing championship history

NCAA Photos via Getty Images Washington celebrates its 2019 title.

These are the programs that have won the DI rowing championship. Washington (above) is the defending champion.

2019 Washington 132 Texas 125 Indianapolis
2018 California 130 Washington 128 Sarasota, Fla.
2017 Washington 132 California 123 West Windsor, N.J.
2016 California 129 Ohio State 126 Gold River, Calif.
2015 Ohio State 126 California 114 Gold River, Calif.
2014 Ohio State 126 California 118 Indianapolis
2013 Ohio State 126 California 124 Indianapolis
2012 Virginia 87 Michigan 82 West Windsor, N.J.
2011 Brown 85 Stanford 85 Gold River, Calif.
2010 Virginia 87 California 82 Lake Natoma, Calif.
2009 Stanford 88 California 85 Cherry Hill, N.J.
2008 Brown 67 Washington 59 Sacramento, Calif.
2007 Brown 58 Virginia 54 Knoxville, Tenn.
2006 California 66 Brown 66 West Windsor, N.J.
2005 California 67 Virginia 63 Sacramento, Calif.
2004 Brown 70 Yale 58 Sacramento, Calif.
2003 Harvard 59 Brown 57 Indianapolis, Ind.
2002 Brown 67 Washington 63 Indianapolis, Ind.
2001 Washington 58 Michigan 53 Gainesville, Ga.
2000 Brown 59 Washington 55 Cherry Hill, N.J.
1999 Brown 56 Virginia 56 Sacramento, Calif.
1998 Washington 91 Brown 85 Gainesville, Ga.
1997 Washington 201 Princeton 184 Sacramento, Calif.