Last Updated 2:02 PM, May 29, 2021

Bates wins 2021 DIII rowing championship

2021 rowing championship: day two full replay
5:39 pm, May 29, 2021

Bates College wins DIII rowing championship

Bates rowing

Bates College won its fourth straight DIII rowing championship Saturday. 

The team made up of Elizabeth Folsom (Cox), Grace Bake (8), Carla Guichard (7), Sally Harris Porter (6), Hannah Beams (5), Elizabeth Fischer (4), Lillian Kinder (3), Catharine Berry-Toon (2) and Saylor Strugar (1) took first place with an unofficial finish time of 6:34.872.

Click or tap here to see the full results


12:40 pm, May 29, 2021

Day 2 schedule Day 1 results from the DIII rowing championship

Ithaca women's rowing

Welcome to the 2021 DIII rowing championships. Day 2 action picks up Saturday at 11 a.m. ET at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida. This year, all three divisions are competing at the same location, meaning there will be one stream to broadcast all of the action. 

Click or tap here to view the results from day 1.

Saturday, all of the action will be streamed right here on The stream will run throughout the morning so you have access to every division's events. It also means you'll be able to see your favorite team compete even if you're tuning in a few minutes behind. If you missed any action from today, you can watch a day 1 recap here

7:40 pm, May 11, 2021

NCAA announces 2021 DIII Women's Rowing Championships selections

Ithaca Athletics Ithaca was selected for the DIII Women's Rowing Championships.

The NCAA Division III Women’s Rowing Committee has selected the institutions that will compete in the 2021 NCAA Division III Women’s Rowing Championships. The championships will be held May 28-29 at the Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida, hosted by the University of Central Florida and Suncoast Aquatic Nature Center Associates.

For 2021, the championships will be composed of six teams. Each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and a coxswain. The following are the berths that are allocated:  Pool A – three (Pool A consists of conferences that have been awarded automatic qualification); Pool B/C – three (Pools B and C include independents, institutions from conferences that do not meet automatic-qualification standards and Pool A institutions that did not receive their conference’s automatic qualification.).

Pool A

ConfereNce Team
Liberty League Ithaca*
Mid-Atlantic Rowing Conference Washington College*
New England Small College Athletic Conference Bates*

*Automatic qualifier

Pool B/C

Pacific Lutheran
Wesleyan (Connecticut)
1:47 pm, April 26, 2021

The DIII rowing championship selections are announced on Tuesday, May 11

Bates College is the defending DIII women's rowing champion.

The 2021 NCAA Division III rowing championship field will be announced here on today, Tuesday, May 11, at 4:30 p.m. EDT. The championship is May 28-29 at Nathan Benderson Park in Sarasota, Florida.

Past DIII rowing champions

Here is a list of past NCAA DIII rowing champions.

2019 Bates Peter Steenstra 46 WPI 41 Indianapolis, Ind.
2018 Bates Peter Steenstra 56 Wellesley 45 Sarasota, Fla.
2017 Bates Peter Steenstra 39 Williams 38 West Windsor, N.J.
2016 Wellesley Tessa Spillane 40 Bates 36 Gold River, Calif.
2015 Bates Peter Steenstra 39 Trinity (Conn.) 38 Gold River, Calif.
2014 Trinity (Conn.) Wesley Ng 40 Williams 33 Indianapolis, Ind.
2013 Williams Kate Maloney 42 Bates 35 Indianapolis, Ind.
2012 Williams Kate Maloney 42 Bates 37 West Windsor, N.J.
2011 Williams Brad Hemmerly 19 Bates 16 Gold River, Calif.
2010 Williams Justin Moore 26 Bates 19 Gold River, Calif.
2009 Williams Justin Moore 24 Bates 19 Cherry Hill, N.J.
2008 Williams Justin Moore 25 Trinity (Conn.) 21 Gold River, Calif.
2007 Williams Justin Moore 18 Trinity (Conn.) 16 Oak Ridge, Tenn.
2006 Williams Justin Moore 21 Ithaca 15 West Windsor, N.J.
2005 *Ithaca Becky Robinson 10 Smith 10 Gold River, Calif.
2004 Ithaca Becky Robinson 7 Smith 10 Gold River, Calif.
2003 Colby Stew Stokes 10 Puget Sound 12 Indianapolis, Ind.
2002 Williams Justin Moore 9 Colby 11 Indianapolis, Ind.