Last Updated 1:05 PM, May 16, 2022

Live coverage of the NCAA DIII softball championship

DIII softball: 2022 selection show
11:08 pm, May 15, 2022

The super regionals are almost set

There are 16 team remaining in the hunt in the 2022 NCAA DII Softball Championship.

After No. 1 Eastern Connecticut State took down No. 2 Kean, 8-0, on Monday morning, the eight matchups are set for the super regionals. The best-of-three super regionals will start Friday, May 20, and the winners will advance to the DIII softball finals at Moyer Park in Salem, Va., from May 26-31.

Here are the matchups for the super regionals:

  • No. 1 Christopher Newport vs. No. 2 Virginia Wesleyan
  • No. 2 Tufts vs. No. 2 Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • No. 1 Eastern Connecticut State vs. No. 1 Randolph-Macon
  • No. 1 Millikin vs. No. 2 Wartburg
  • No. 1 Salisbury vs. No. 4 Mount St. Joseph
  • No. 1 Bethel (MN) vs. No. 4 Berry
  • No. 1 Texas Lutheran vs. No. 1 Belhaven
  • No. 1 Trine vs. No. 3 Case Western Reserve

Click or tap here to view the interactive championship bracket.

1:00 am, May 13, 2022

Belhaven, East Texas Baptist win on first day of regionals

The Belhaven and East Texas Baptist got the 2022 DIII softball regionals started with a pair wins in the opening games. 

East Texas Baptist beat Linfield 7-2 in the first game of the day. The Tigers put up three runs in the bottom of the first and never looked back. Linfield was only able put up a run in the second and third to make it a one-run game, but the Tigers separated themselves quickly. 

In the second game, Belhaven took down Fontbonne 8-2. Just like East Texas Baptist, Belhaven also put up three in the first. The Blazers scored all eight of their runs in the first three innings. In fact, all 10 runs in that game were scored in the first three innings. 

Friday will see 31 DIII softball regional matchups throughout the day.

Click or tap here to view the complete bracket.

Here is the complete list of games on Friday:

*All times are eastern

2:00 pm, May 12, 2022

DIII softball regional play starts today

Two regional games today will kick off the 2022 NCAA DIII Softball Championship, with the 62-team field beginning with regional competition that will conclude Sunday, May 15. Then, the regional winners will advance to the super regionals.

Here is the complete list of scores for Thursday's games:

Click or tap here to view the interactive championship bracket.

5:06 pm, May 9, 2022

2022 DIII softball championship selections announced

On Monday, May 9, the 2022 NCAA DIII Softball Championship selections were announced, as 62 teams qualified for the sport's championship field. There are 16 regional sites — 15 regional sites with four teams and one with two teams, and regional competition will begin on Friday, May 13 and conclude May 15.

The winners of each regional will advance to the super regionals, which will take place from May 20-21. The winners of the super regionals will then advance to the DIII softball finals at Moyer Park in Salem, Va., from May 26-31. Each round will consist of double-elimination play.

Click or tap here to view the official selections announcement, or click here to watch the selection show.

Click or tap here to view the interactive championship bracket.

7:25 pm, May 7, 2022

How to watch the DIII softball selection show

The 2022 DIII softball selection show will air at 1 p.m. ET on Monday, May 9 live on The complete bracket will be posted here shortly after the selection show is over. 

When: Monday, May 9 at 1 p.m. ET


The 2022 DIII softball championship will be played from May 26-31 at the Moyer Sports Complex in Salem, Virginia.

7:20 pm, May 7, 2022

Complete history of the DIII softball championship

2021 Virginia Wesleyan (46-6-1) Brandon Elliott 9-1 Texas Lutheran Salem, Va.
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19  -- -- -- --
2019 Texas Lutheran (40-8) Wade Wilson 6-1 Emory  Tyler, Texas
2018 Virginia Wesleyan (55-3) Brandon Elliott 3-1 Illinois Wesleyan Oklahoma City, Okla.
2017 Virginia Wesleyan (54-3) Brandon Elliott  1-0 St. John Fisher Oklahoma City, Okla.
2016 Texas-Tyler (49-5) Mike Reed 7-0 Messiah Salem, Va.
2015 Tufts (51-0) Cheryl Milligan 7-4 Texas-Tyler Salem, Va.
2014 Tufts (47-4) Cheryl Milligan 6-0 Salisbury Tyler, Texas
2013 *Tufts (46-3) Cheryl Milligan 6-5 Cortland State Eau Claire, Wis.
2012 *Pacific Lutheran (45-11) Erin Van Nostrand 3-0 Linfield Salem, Va.
2011 Linfield (51-3) Jackson Vaughan 6-2 Christopher Newport Salem Va.
2010 East Texas Baptist (40-12) Janae Schlabs-Shirley 5-4 Linfield Eau Claire, Wisc.
2009 *Messiah (43-4) Amy Weaver 2-0 Coe Montclair, N.J.
2008 *Wisconsin-Eau Claire (36-11) Leslie Huntington 4-3 Wisconsin-Whitewater Salem Va.
2007 Linfield (45-7) Jackson Vaughan 10-2 Washington-St. Louis Salem Va.
2006 *Rutgers-Camden (47-5) Carl Taylor 3-2 St. Thomas (Minn.) Raleigh, N.C.
2005 *St. Thomas (Minn.) (43-6) John Tschida 9-3 Salisbury Raleigh, N.C.
2004 St. Thomas (Minn.) (46-3) John Tschida 2-0 Moravian Salem Va.
2003 Central (Iowa) (39-5-1) George Wares 5-3 Salisbury Salem Va.
2002 Ithaca (37-13) Deb Pallozzi 1-0 Lake Forest Eau Claire, Wisc.
2001 *Muskingum (47-6) Donna Newberry 4-1 Central (Iowa) Eau Claire, Wisc.
2000 *Saint Mary (Minn.) (40-6) John Tschida 5-0 Chapman Salem Va.
1999 Simpson (47-4-1) Henry Christowski 6-0 Chapman Eau Claire, Wisc.
1998 Wisconsin-Stevens Point (43-15) Dean Shuda 3-1 Chapman Salem Va.
1997 Simpson (39-7) Henry Christowski 2-1 Montclair State Eau Claire, Wisc.
1996 *TCNJ (41-3) Sally Miller 7-2 Chapman Salem Va.
1995 *Chapman (43-5) Lesle Lloyd 4-2 TCNJ Storm Lake, Iowa
1994 *TCNJ (48-4) June Walker 6-5 Bridgewater State Salem Va.
1993 *Central (Iowa) (38-2) George Wares 7-3 TCNJ Decatur, Ill.
1992 *TCNJ (48-2) June Walker 4-0 Buena Vista Pella, Iowa
1991 *Central (Iowa) (42-6) George Wares 4-0 Eastern Connecticut State Willimantic, Conn.
1990 Eastern Connecticut State (34-5) Jeff Anderson 1-0 TCNJ Storm Lake, Iowa
1989 *TCNJ (46-3) June Walker 8-7 Eastern Connecticut State Ewing, N.J.
1988 Central (Iowa) (35-10) George Wares 3-2 Allegheny Elmherst, Ill.
1987 *TCNJ (46-3) June Walker 1-0 Wisconsin-Whitewater Willimantic, Conn.
1986 Eastern Connecticut State (36-11) Clyde Washburne 1-0 Central (Iowa) Storm Lake, Iowa
1985 Eastern Connecticut State (39-9) Clyde Washburne 1-0 TCNJ Willimantic, Conn.
1984 *Buena Vista (29-8-1) Marge Willadsen 3-1 TCNJ De Pere, Wisc.
1983 TCNJ (41-7) June Walker 7-0 Buena Vista Willimantic, Conn.
1982 *Eastern Connecticut State (27-10) Clyde Washburne 2-0 TCNJ Ewing, N.J.

*Indicates undefeated teams in finals series