Last Updated 12:34 PM, June 17, 2021

Texas wins 2021 NCAA DI women's tennis championship

Texas wins the DI women's tennis national championship
1:24 am, May 23, 2021

No. 2 Texas wins the 2021 DI women's tennis team championship

Texas Athletics Texas women's tennis

Lulu Sun delivered No. 2 Texas its third championship in program history, defeating Pepperdine's Taisiya Pachkaleva in the deciding match at No. 3 singles. Sun won her matchup 6-2, 7-6, 7-5. She had a chance to serve for the match up 5-3 after a service break in the eighth game before Pachkaleva broke back and tied the set at five games apiece. But Sun's serve put her back in front again and broke Pachkaleva's serve a second time to win it, clinching the match with a cross-court backhand winner that was returned into the net.

Click or tap here for the final interactive bracket

Texas won the doubles point and No. 4 singles for an early 2-0 lead before Pepperdine pulled level with wins on courts two and five. The Longhorns and Waves split singles wins at No. 1 and No. 6 just as Pachkaleva forced a third set, setting the stage for a winner-take-all moment.

Here are the final scores (in order) of all singles matches:

No. 4 singles: Texas' Charlotte Chavatipon def. Pepperdine's Shiori Fukuda 6-3, 6-2
No. 2 singles: Pepperdine's Jessica Failla def. Texas' Anna Turati 6-2, 6-3
No. 5 singles: Pepperdine's Lisa Zaar def. Texas' Kylie Collins 6-3, 7-6
No. 1 singles: Texas' Peyton Stearns def. Pepperdine's Ashley Lahey  2-6, 6-0, 6-2
No. 6 singles: Pepperdine's Nikki Redelijk def. Texas' Malaika Rapolu 6-4, 7-5
No. 3 singles: Texas' Lulu Sun def. Pepperdine's Taisiya Pachkaleva 6-4, 6-7, 7-5

And this is how Texas won the doubles point:

  • No. 1 doubles: Texas' L. Sun/K. Collins 7, Pepperdine's A. Lahey/L. Zaar 6 (7-3 in tiebreak) 
  • No. 2 doubles: Pepperdine's S. Fukuda/T. Pachkaleva 6, Texas' A. Turati/F. Labrana 1
  • No. 3 doubles: Texas' C. Chavapiton/P. Stearns 7, Pepperdine's J. Failla/A. Iamachkine 6 (7-5 in tiebreak) 

Don't go anywhere, college tennis fans. We've still got another great week of championship play as the singles and doubles brackets begin Sunday, May 23 and Monday, May 24.