Does the NCAA play host to a football championships?

Yes -- the NCAA has three football championships: the Division I football championship for teams in the Football Championship Subdivision, the Division II football championship and the Division III football championship.

Big Sky Conference  
Big South Conference  
Colonial Athletic Association  
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference  
Missouri Valley Football Conference  
Northeast Conference  
Ohio Valley Conference  
Patriot League  
Southern Conference  
Southland Conference  

How do the championships work?

Football Championship Subdivision
The Division I Football Championship features a 20-team playoff. The top teams in 10 conferences automatically qualify while the other 10 teams are selected at-large by the Division I Football Championship Committee. Since 1997, the Division I football championship has been played at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Division II
The Division II football championship consists of a 24-team playoff field. All teams are selected by the Division II Football Committee. The game is played annually at Braly Municipal Stadium near the campus of the University of North Alabama in Florence, Ala.

Division III
The Division III football championship has a 32-team playoff field with 23 automatic-qualifications and nine teams selected by the committee. The field is selected by the Division III Football Committee. The championship game has been played at Salem Stadium in Salem, Va., since 1993.

What’s the difference between the FBS and FCS?

The main difference is in the postseason -- the Football Bowl Subdivision plays in bowl games while Football Championship Subdivision schools play for an NCAA championship trophy through a playoff format.

Also, FBS schools give up to 85 scholarships. FCS schools have up to 63.

If the FCS can hold a playoff, why can’t the FBS?

The overwhelming majority of presidents at FBS schools have consistently said they don’t want a playoff. They cite academic challenges, a need to support the traditional bowl systems and the importance of each regular-season game under the Bowl Championship Series formula.

The BCS was created independently of the NCAA in 1998, with the goal of matching the nation’s top two teams from the FBS in a bowl game.