• The first NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Championships were held in Salt Lake City, Utah, in 1982. Utah claimed the team title with a score of 148.60. The Utes went on to win the first five NCAA team titles (1982-86) and a total of nine championships in a 14-year span.

• The NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Championships consists of 12 teams, 12 all-around competitors and event specialists. The top two-teams and the top-two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional receive an automatic berth to the national championships. In addition, the event winners at the regional championships advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers.

• Since 1993, the team champion has been determined during the Super Six team finals. The top-three teams from each semifinal advance to the Super Six competition. The national championship is awarded to the team with the highest cumulative team score during that Super Six competition.

• In the 31-year history of the championships only four teams have ever won the NCAA team title – Alabama, Georgia, UCLA and Utah.

• Georgia has won an NCAA record 10 women’s gymnastics national championships. Utah has won nine team titles, while Alabama and UCLA have claimed six each.

• The 2013 NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Championships will be held on the campus of UCLA in Los Angeles, Calif. It makes the fourth time UCLA will have played host to the event. The Bruins also hosted in 1984, 1998 and 2004.

• Alabama enters the 2013 NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Championships as the two-time defending national champions. The Tide edged UCLA, 197.650-197.375, to capture the title in 2011 and held off Florida, 197.850-197.775, in 2012.

• Georgia’s Courtney Kupets holds the NCAA record for individual titles won during her career, with nine. She claimed titles in the all-around (2006, 2007 and 2009) and on the vault (2007), bars (2006 and 2009), beam (2006 and 2009) and floor (2009).

• Three student-athletes have won a NCAA record four individual titles in a single year. Utah’s Missy Marlowe first accomplished the feat, winning the all-around, bars, beam and floor in 1992. Kentucky’s Jenny Hansen then captured the all-around, vault, beam and floor titles in 1995 and Georgia’s Courtney Kupets claimed gold in the all-around, bars, beam and floor in 2009.

Championship History
Record Books