TOWSON, Md. -- For the seventh time this season, Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) claimed an event championship, this time knocking off Nebraska and Arkansas State, both 4-1, to take first place at the 2013 installment of the James Brown Invitational, hosted by Morgan State.

After overcoming a rough day one, finishing in sixth place, the Hawks rebounded to finish day two in third place. That set up a match on day three with second-seeded Nebraska in the best four-of-seven Baker series.

UMES got off to a game one win with a 225-168 score. The Huskers rebounded to win game two 258-203, but the Hawks rallied to take the next three games 200-189, 206-143 and 216-153, and the match 4-1. The line-up of Victoria Jones, Megan Buja, Valentina Collazos, Anggie Ramirez and T'nia Falbo put all five games of the match above 200.

That same line-up then took on fourth-seeded Arkansas State for the championship. The Red Wolves defeated the top-seed Jennies of Central Missouri in the first round. UMES took game one by a pin 194-193. That gave the Hawks momentum into game two to win 215-157. Game three saw the Red Wolves rebound and post a 191-176 win, but that is the only win they would get. Trailing in game four, the Hawks got a break and closed out the game 246-231. They then posted a 246-230 win in game five to take the match and the tournament championship, the second in the last two weeks.

Freshman Kristie Lopez was named to the All-Tournament Team for her outing, taking fourth overall with a 211.4 with a 1,057 pin fall over five games. Falbo was the next highest finisher for the Hawks in 24th, averaging a 196.8.

The Red Wolves took runner-up honors while Nebraska topped top-seeded Central Missouri for third, giving the Jennies a fourth place finish. Sacred Heart topped Norfolk State to take fifth and hand the Spartans a sixth place finish.  Delaware State, Saint Francis (Pa.), Fairleigh Dickinson and Long Island-Brooklyn rounded out the top ten.

Bethune-Cookman, St. Francis-Brooklyn, New Jersey City, Hampton and Kutztown were the next five finishers.