May 11, 2010

By Amy Farnum

Johns Hopkins University’s 32-game winning streak came to an end on the final day of the Blue Jays’ regular season schedule as they dropped the second game of a doubleheader, 6-4, to Salisbury on May 8.  The streak was one game short of tying the school record of 33 games held by the 2004 squad.

The No. 1 Blue Jays concluded regular season play with a 39-4 mark, including a 21-0 record against Centennial Conference foes.  Two weeks ago, JHU secured the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament by winning its’ fourth straight CC Tournament title.

IN FOR A BATTLE: The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater will host the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament on May 14-5 as the second-ranked Warhawks look to win their first league tournament title since 2004.

UW-Whitewater has won the last three WIAC regular season championships, and seven of the last eight, but UW-Stevens Point has come away with the tournament trophy in each of the last five years.  The three-team, double-elimination tournament of Whitewater, second-seeded UW-Stevens Point and No. 3 UW-Platteville will decide the WIAC’s winner of the league’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.  The Warhawks enter the tournament on an eight-game winning streak.

FOUR IN A ROW: After opening Ohio Athletic Conference play with a 4-3 record, Heidelberg University reeled off 11 straight league wins to claim its fourth consecutive regular season conference title.

The ‘Berg went 4-0 last week, sweeping doubleheaders versus Capital and Mount Union behind the offensive production of junior third baseman Willie Brechun.  The native of Canton, Ohio, batted .650 for the week with 10 RBI and five runs scored as he garnered his first OAC Hitter of the Week award.

Heidelberg, which posted a school-record 34 regular season victories this year, will host the OAC Tournament on May 13-15 with the winner earning an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

TOMMIE BOY: St. Thomas (Minn.) right-hander Matt Schuld was selected Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Co-Pitcher of the Week after posting a 2-0 mark last week and leading the Tommies to their eighth straight league title.

The senior from Plymouth, Minn., tossed five shutout innings in 2-1, 10-inning win over Hamline on Wednesday, and followed it up with six shutout innings against St. Olaf on Saturday.  Schuld, who has not allowed a run in his last 19 innings pitched, also became the MIAC all-time victories leader with 28.

The No. 5 Tommies enter the MIAC Tournament as the top seed, and the Division III leader in ERA (2.34), after surrendering just four earned runs in five games last week.

JUMBO-SIZED:  Tufts University won its first New England Small College Athletic Conference Championship since 2002 as the Jumbos capped off the tournament with a 6-1 win over Bowdoin for the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.  The victory was also the 500th of head coach John Casey’s 27-year career.

SELECTION INFORMATION:  The 55-team field for the 2010 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship will be announced late on Sunday, May 16 via  Teams that have already qualified for the tournament are listed here:

Automatic Qualifiers through May 11 (Pool A Teams)

American Southwest Conference: Texas-Tyler

Capital Athletic Conference: Mary Washington

Centennial Conference: Johns Hopkins

Commonwealth Coast Conference: Western New England

Great Northeast Athletic Conference: St. Joseph (Maine)

Landmark Athletic Conference: Moravian

MAC Commonwealth: Widener

MAC Freedom: Manhattanville

Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference: Worcester State

Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association: Adrian

New England Small College Athletic Conference: Tufts

New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference: Wheaton (Mass.)

North Eastern Athletic Conference: Castleton State

New Jersey Athletic Conference: Kean

North Coast Athletic Conference: Wooster

Northwest Conference: Linfield

Old Dominion Athletic Conference: Bridgewater (Va.)

Skyline Conference: Farmingdale State

Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference: Pomona-Pitzer

Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference: Trinity (TX)

State University of New York Athletic Conference: Brockport State

USA South Athletic Conference: Shenandoah