May 17, 2010


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 55 teams that will compete in the 2010 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Six teams will compete at four first-round sites; seven teams will compete at one first-round site; eight teams will compete at three first-round sites. All first rounds will use a double-elimination format. Thirty-six conference champions qualified automatically.

Winners of the eight first-round tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin, May 8-June 1.

May 19-23

Hosted by Augustana College (Illinois), Moline, Illinois
1. Buena Vista (29-11)
2. North Central (Illinois) (31-9)
3. Ripon (24-15)
4. Webster (33-9)
5. Rose-Hulman (29-12)
6. Illinois Wesleyan (23-20)

Hosted by the State University of New York at Cortland, Auburn, New York
1. SUNY Cortland (32-8)
2. St. John Fisher (28-12)
3. Oneonta State 28-11)
4. Skidmore (30-13)
5. Keene State (26-15-1)
6. Farmingdale State (24-15)
7. College at Brockport (23-16)
8. Castleton (32-13)

Hosted by Eastern Connecticut State University, Mansfield, Connecticut
1. Tufts (31-5)
2. Wheaton (Massachusetts) 32-8)
3. Western New England (33-10)
4. Eastern Connecticut State (30-13)
5. Worcester State (31-19-1)
6. Westfield State (30-9)
7. Massachusetts-Boston (28-15)
8. St. Joseph's (Maine) (32-11)

Hosted by Kean University, Trenton, New Jersey
1. Johns Hopkins (38-4)
2. Kean (34-10)
3. Widener (25-12)
4. Alvernia (32-10)
5. Keystone (29-7)
6. Rowan (24-14-1)
7. Manhattanville (22-19-1)
8. Moravian (26-13)

Hosted by Linfield College, McMinnville, Oregon
1. Chapman (30-9)
2. Linfield (30-10)
3. Pomona-Pitzer (29-9)
4. Texas-Tyler (35-10)
5. Mississippi College (36-9)
6. Trinity (Texas) 32-7)

Hosted by Marietta College, Marietta, Ohio
1. Heidelberg (37-6)
2. Wooster (34-7)
3. Marietta (32-11)
4. Washington and Jefferson (32-10)
5. Adrian (29-11)
6. Thomas More (31-14)
7. Penn State-Behrend (29-14)

Hosted by Methodist University, Fayetteville, North Carolina
1. Shenandoah (34-8)
2. Salisbury (27-11)
3. Mary Washington (26-12)
4. York (Pennsylvania) (28-14)
5. LaGrange (26-17)
6. Bridgewater (Virginia) (23-18-1)

Hosted by University of Wisconsin, Whitewater, Whitewater, Wisconsin
1. Wisconsin-Whitewater (38-5)
2. St. Thomas (Minnesota) (33-7)
3. St. Scholastica (38-6)
4. Wisconsin-Stevens Point (29-15)
5. Carthage (28-16)
6. Aurora (27-14)

First-round matchups for the championship site will be as follows:

SUNY Cortland regional winner vs. Wisconsin-Whitewater regional winner
Eastern Connecticut State regional winner vs. Linfield regional winner
Marietta regional winner vs. Kean regional winner
Methodist regional winner vs. Augustana (Illinois) regional winner

Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

ConferenceAutomatic-Qualifier Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference Keystone
Commonwealth Coast Conference Western New England
Commonwealth Conference Widener
Freedom Conference Manhattanville
Great Northeast Athletic Conference St. Joseph's (Maine)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Buena Vista
Landmark Conference Moravian
Liberty League Skidmore
Little East Conference Massachusetts-Boston
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Worcester State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Adrian
Midwest Conference Ripon
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Tufts
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference Wheaton (Massachusetts)
New Jersey Athletic Conference Kean
North Coast Athletic Conference Wooster
North Eastern Athletic Conference Castleton
Northern Athletics Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference Heidelberg
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Bridgewater (Virginia)
President's Athletic Conference Thomas More
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Pomona-Pitzer
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas)
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
State University of New York Athletic Conference College at Brockport
USA South Athletic Conference Shenandoah
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-Whitewater
Pool B
St. John Fisher
St. Scholastica
Pool C
Eastern Connecticut
Keene State
Mississippi College
North Central (Illinois)
Oneonta State
SUNY Cortland
Washington and Jefferson
Wisconsin-Stevens Point
York (Pennsylvania)

In the 2009 Division III championship game, the University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) defeated the College of Wooster 3-2 in 12 innings.

The 2010 NCAA Spring Seasonal Show will air on CBS at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19, and will include highlights from the championship.