UC San Diego Athletics

LA JOLLA, Calif. - After leading the UC San Diego baseball team to its finest season in the history of the program in 2010, head coach Dan O'Brien has been named the NCAA Division II Coach of the Year by FieldTurf.

O'Brien skippered the Tritons to a 54-8 overall record, the most wins and fewest losses in school history, and a trip to the national championship game in Cary, N.C. The team set a total of 19 school records over the season and O'Brien reached a personal milestone with his 400th career victory in April.

The winningest coach in UCSD baseball history, he holds a career record of 412-268-1 (.606) in 13 seasons on the La Jolla campus. Under his guidance the Tritons have become a perennial contender at the Division II level, advancing to the NCAA National Championships in each of the last two seasons.

UCSD won back-to-back California Collegiate Athletic Association and NCAA West Regional titles in 2010 before finishing as the national runner-up in North Carolina.

O'Brien was named the 2010 NCBWA National Coach of the Year for the second year in a row, while also taking home ABCA/Rawlings West Region and CCAA Coach of the Year accolades in consecutive seasons, as well.

The Tritons kick off their 2011 campaign with 16 straight home games, starting with an exhibition against San Diego Christian College on Friday, Jan. 28.