Year Player School
2010 Chance Ruffin Texas
2009 Addison Reed San Diego State
2008 Joshua Fields Georgia
2007 Luke Prihoda Sam Houston State
2006 Don Czyz Kansas
2005 J. Brent Cox Texas

NCBWA Release

Forty-five players have been named to the initial watch list for the seventh annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in Division I baseball.

Portland's Chris Dennis, a finalist last year for the Stopper of the Year Award, headlines the list of preseason nominees for the 2011 award. Last season, Dennis collected 14 saves and went 5-1 with a 1.88 ERA and 51 strikeouts in 43 innings pitched.

Also on the list are Mike McGee from Florida State and Collin Cargill from Southern Miss. McGee, who helped the Seminoles to the College World Series, had 13 saves and a 2.96 ERA a year ago, while Cargill had nine saves and a 1.75 ERA.

The Big 12, SEC and Conference USA led the way with four players each on this year's watch list. The Big 10, Atlantic 10 and Atlantic Sun each have three pitchers on the list.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 18, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released June 1, prior to start of regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee then will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced in Omaha on June 18, the opening day of the CWS.

Pitcher School Class
James Allen Kansas State Junior
Cameron Amsrud Milwaukee Junior
Collin Cargill Southern Miss Senior
Andrew Chafin Kent State Sophomore
Pat Christensen La Salle Sophomore
Rye Davis Western Kentucky Junior
Chris Dennis Portland Senior
Michael Devine VMI Junior
Ryan Duke Oklahoma Senior
Alex Frederick Clemson Senior
Tyler Gebler Rutgers Sophomore
Thomas Girdwood Elon Senior
Brian Hamilton Charlotte Senior
Brett Huber Ole Miss Sophomore
Jon Ivie Belmont Senior
Chris Kaminski Jacksonville Senior
Cory Kent Lehigh Junior
Mitchell Lambson Arizona State Junior
Gardner Leaver Rhode Island Senior
Kevin Lee Iowa Senior
Lenny Linsky Hawaii Junior
Kenny Long Illinois State Junior
Scott Matyas Minnesota Senior
Mike McGee Florida State Senior
Scott McGough Oregon Junior
Kevin McKague Army Senior
Andy Mee Florida Atlantic Senior
Hoby Milner Texas Sophomore
Jake Morgan Ole Miss Junior
Matty Ott LSU Junior
Nick Pepitone Tulane Senior
Brooks Pinckard Baylor Junior
Matt Price South Carolina Sophomore
Ryne Purcell Eastern Kentucky Senior
Nick Ramirez Cal State Fullerton Junior
Joe Rogers UCF Sophomore
Lex Rutledge Samford Sophomore
Chad Sheppard Northwestern State Junior
Seth Simmons East Carolina Senior
Paul Snieder Northwestern Junior
John Soldinger Manhattan Sophomore
Kevin Vance Connecticut Junior
Trever Vermeulen South Dakota State Senior
Jack Wagoner Florida Gulf Coast Senior
Jason West Stephen F. Austin Junior