INDIANAPOLIS --The field of 64 teams competing for the 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The national top eight seeds are Virginia (49-9), Florida (45-16), North Carolina (45-14), South Carolina (45-14), Florida State (42-17), Vanderbilt (47-10), Texas (43-15) and Rice (41-19).

The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) and Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with seven apiece. The Big 12 and Pacific-10 had six each, while the Conference USA had four selected.

Making the tournament for the first time are Belmont of the Atlantic Sun Conference, Alcorn State of the Southwestern Athletic Conference and UALR of the Sun Belt Conference. Overall, 36 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami (Florida) is in the field for the 39th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 34th straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (20), Rice (17), Oral Roberts (14) and Texas (13).

Of the 292 championship eligible Division I institutions that sponsor baseball, Virginia has the most Division I wins with 49.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

The 65th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Conference No. of Schools Schools
Atlantic Coast 7 Clemson, Florida St., Georgia Tech, Miami (Fla.), North Carolina, North Carolina St., Virginia
Southeastern 7 Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi St., South Carolina, Vanderbilt
Big 12 6 Baylor, Kansas St., Oklahoma, Oklahoma St., Texas, Texas A&M
Pacific-10 6 Arizona, Arizona St., California, Oregon St., Stanford, UCLA
Conference USA 4 East Carolina, Rice, Southern Miss., UCF
Atlantic Sun 3 Belmont, Jacksonville, Stetson
Big East 3 Connecticut, St. John’s, Seton Hall
Sun Belt 3 FIU, Troy, UALR
Big West 2 UC Irvine, Cal St. Fullerton
Mountain West 2 New Mexico, TCU
America East 1 Maine
Atlantic 10 1 Charlotte
Big South 1 Coastal Carolina
Big Ten 1 Illinois
Colonial 1 James Madison
Horizon 1 Wright St.
Independent 1 Dallas Baptist
Ivy 1 Princeton
Metro Atlantic 1 Manhattan
Mid-American 1 Kent St.
Mid-Eastern 1 Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley 1 Creighton
Northeast 1 Sared Heart
Ohio Valley 1 Austin Peay
Patriot 1 Navy
Southern 1 Ga. Southern
Southland 1 Texas St.
Southwestern 1 Alcorn St.
Summit 1 Oral Roberts
West Coast 1 San Francisco
Western Athletic 1 Fresno St.


State No. of Schools Schools
Florida 8 Bethune-Cookman, UCF, Florida, Florida St. FIU, Jacksonville, Miami (Fla.), Stetson
California 7 California, Cal St. Fullerton, UC Irvine, Fresno St., San Francisco, Stanford, UCLA
Texas 7 Baylor, Dallas Baptist, Rice, Texas, Texas A&M, TCU, Texas St.
North Carolina 4 Charlotte, East Carolina, North Carolina, North Carolina St.
Georgia 3 Georgia, Ga. Southern, Georgia Tech
Mississippi 3 Alcorn St., Mississippi St., Southern Miss.
Oklahoma 3 Oklahoma, Oklahoma St., Oral Roberts
South Carolina 3 Clemson, Coastal Caro., South Carolina
Tennessee 3 Austin Peay, Belmont, Vanderbilt
Alabama 2 Alabama, Troy
Arizona 2 Arizona, Arizona St.
Arkansas 2 Arkansas, UALR
Connecticut 2 Connecticut, Sacred Heart
New Jersey 2 Princeton, Seton Hall
New York 2 Manhattan, St. John’s
Ohio 2 Kent St., Wright St.
Virginia 2 James Madison, Virginia
Illinois 1 Illinois
Kansas 1 Kansas St.
Maine 1 Maine
Maryland 1 Navy
Nebraska 1 Creighton
New Mexico 1 New Mexico
Oregon 1 Oregon St.

Other Notes:

Thirty-six of the 64 teams were in the 2010 field. Three teams are making the field for the first time in the program’s history: Alcorn St., Belmont, UALR.

Seton Hall is in the field for the first time since 2001.

Miami (Fla.) is in the field for the 39th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida St. is making its 34th consecutive appearance, which ranks second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks include Cal St. Fullerton (20), Rice (17) and Oral Roberts (14).