LYNCHBURG, Va. -- Liberty’s Ashton Perritt came up big with a game-winning RBI single in the top of the ninth to lead the Flames to a 2-1 win against No. 1-seed Campbell to win the 2013 Big South Championship Saturday afternoon at the Liberty Baseball Stadium.

The Flames win marks the first time the host team has won the championship since 1992 and is just the fourth time overall. The championship is the Flames’ fourth and the first tournament title since 2000. Liberty and Campbell in 1990 are the only No. 5 seeds in tournament history to claim the crown.

To catch up on every conference tournament winner before the field of 64 is announced on Monday, click here.

Liberty notch one runner in the top of the ninth to pick up the 2-1 win. Alex Close reached on a throwing error by Campbell shortstop Graham and moved up to second on the play. Sammy Taormina was hit by a pitch to put runners on first and second. Perritt followed with an RBI single to plate Close.

Campbell got on the board first as it plated one runner in the bottom of the first inning to take the 1-0 lead. With one away, Brent Graham reached on an error and Michael Felton moved Graham up on a single to left center. David Olson followed with a single to load the bases. Elijah Trail plated Graham as he reached on a fielder’s choice.

Liberty tied the game at 1-1 in the top half of the third as Dalton Britt connected on his second home run of the year, a lined shot to right field.

Josh Richardson earned the win for Liberty with eight innings pitched.  He improved to 3-4 on the season and held the Camels to just one run on five hits. Perritt picked up the save with a pair of strikeouts in the ninth.  Ryan Thompson took the loss for Campbell and falls to 9-1 on the year.

Wimmer finished the game with two hits, while teammate Bryan Aanderud also notched a pair of hits. Nick Ray was Campbell’s top hitter with two hits.

With the win, Liberty improves to 34-27, while Campbell ends their run at 49-10.