baseball-d2 flag | May 12, 2014

Field of 48 released for DII tournament

DII Baseball: 2014 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division II Baseball Committee has selected the 48 teams that will participate in the 2014 NCAA Division II Baseball Championship.

The championship provides for eight regional sites hosting six teams. All regionals are double-elimination tournaments and will be played May 15-18. Regional champions will advance to the double-elimination championship finals May 24-31 at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, North Carolina. The finals will be hosted by the University of Mount Olive and the town of Cary, North Carolina.

Brackets: Regionals Printable Final Site Interactive Final Site

Twenty conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2014 championship. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below:

California Collegiate Athletic Association – UC San Diego
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference – Felician
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Winston-Salem State
Conference Carolinas – Mount Olive
East Coast Conference – St. Thomas Aquinas
Great American Conference- Southern Arkansas
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Grand Valley State
Great Lakes Valley Conference – Drury
Gulf South Conference – Alabama-Huntsville
Heartland Conference – St. Edward's
Lone Star Conference – Tarleton State
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association – Emporia State
Northeast-10 Conference – Southern New Hampshire
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference – Augustana College (S.D.)
Peach Belt Conference – Lander
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference – Kutztown
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference –Colorado Mesa
South Atlantic Conference – Catabawa
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference – Stillman
Sunshine State Conference – Tampa

In the 2013 championship, Tampa captured its sixth national championship title with an 8-2 victory against Minnesota State-Mankato.

This year marks the 47th annual championship, and the sixth consecutive year that the finals have been held in Cary, North Carolina.

SITES/PAIRINGS:  *Denotes host institution

Atlantic Regional at West Lawn, Pennsylvania
1. Millersville 36-14
2. Shepherd 38-12
3. Seton Hill 36-15
4. Mercyhurst 30-13
5. Winston-Salem State 35-17
6. *Kutztown 30-19

Central Regional at Russellville, Arkansas
1. *Arkansas Tech 42-10
2. Southern Arkansas 38-17
3. Minnesota State-Mankato 41-9
4. Emporia State 40-17
5. Arkansas-Monticello 36-15
6. Augustana (S.D.) 40-14

East Regional at Manchester, New Hampshire
1. *Southern New Hampshire 39-12
2. Franklin Pierce 35-16
3. Wilmington (Del.) 33-9-1
4. St. Thomas Aquinas 35-15
5. Dowling 33-15
6. Felician 29-18

Midwest Regional at Evansville, Indiana
1. *Southern Indiana 41-11
2. Grand Valley State 37-11
3. Drury  41-11
4. Wayne State (Mich.) 35-15
5. Lake Erie 31-20
6. Indianapolis 30-23

South Regional at Tampa, Florida
1. *Tampa 47-2
2. Lynn 34-13
3. Delta State 38-11
4. Florida Southern 32-17
5. Alabama-Huntsville 39-14
6. Stillman 30-19

Southeast Regional at Greenwood, South Carolina
1. *Lander 47-6
2. Mount Olive 40-11
3. Columbus State 36-15
4. South Carolina-Aiken 36-15
5. Georgia College 34-15
6. Catawba 33-18

South Central Regional at Grand Junction, Colorado
1. *Colorado Mesa 40-10
2. West Texas A&M 35-19
3. Texas A&M Kingsville 34-18
4. St. Edward’s 39-14
5. Tarleton State 29-22
6. New Mexico Highlands 32-20

West Regional at La Jolla, California
1. *UC San Diego 35-14
2. Chico State 39-13
3. California Baptist 37-13
4. Cal Poly Pomona 32-15
5.  Dixie State 35-15
6.  Sonoma State 27-16



Stetson baseball's Jorge Arenas: 'This is the best team I’ve been a part of — by a long shot'

Stetson's 2021 baseball team looks to be one of the best in program history. But just how deep into the postseason can the Hatters go? For more, here's the 2021 Stetson season preview.

Louisville baseball's eight returning MLB-caliber players prime the Cardinals for a CWS run

Even after losing a pair of first-round picks from its weekend rotation, Louisville is loaded to the gills and primed for another run at its first national title in 2021.

Vanderbilt baseball looks to mature in 2021, despite the presence of Kumar Rocker and Jack Leiter

Vanderbilt has the most electrifying one-two punch in college baseball leading its rotation, headlining a supremely talented roster that just needs to gain experience.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners