baseball-d1 flag

UCLA Athletics | May 10, 2015

UCLA needs 17 innings to down Arizona St.

PHOENIX -- UCLA out-lasted Arizona State to defeat the Sun Devils 11-5 in 17 innings on Saturday evening at Phoenix Municipal Stadium. The Bruins came from four runs down in the eighth inning to eventually capture the series clinching victory with a six-run 17th frame. UCLA seals their 12th consecutive series win.

In total, the Bruins recorded 17 hits, reaching the double-digit hit mark for the 25th time and second time in this series. Trent Chatterton (3-for-8, 2B, 2 R, 4 RBI) led the way, driving in a career-high four runs. Also finishing with three hits were Kevin Kramer (3-for-9, 2 R, RBI) and Ty Moore (3-for-7, R, RBI).

Throwing two scoreless innings of relief, Grant Dyer (3-0) earned the win, striking out four batters. Jordan Aboites (2-3) allowed six runs on four hits in one inning of relief to garner the loss.

Arizona State (29-17, 14-9) pushed across the opening score of the game with a run in the bottom of the first inning. Lead-off hitter, Johnny Sewald, began the game with a double down into the right field corner to put a Sun Devil in scoring position right away.

Jake Peevyhouse and Colby Woodmansee followed with back-to-back ground outs to move Sewald station-to-station to go up 1-0.

The Sun Devils proceeded to add another run in the bottom of the third, effectively extending the lead to two. Back-to-back singles from Andrew Snow and Sewald opened the frame, with a sacrifice-bunt from Peevyhouse to follow. Woodmansee then drove in his second run of the game with a sacrifice-fly to center field.

UCLA (36-11, 18-5) had a good chance to break-through in the top of the fourth inning, getting two runners into scoring position with one out. A single from Ty Moore and a double from Luke Persico set the table for the Bruins. However, Kellogg responded with back-to-back strikeouts to quell the UCLA threat.

ASU subsequently tacked on two more runs in the bottom of the fourth inning to further widen the edge over the Bruins. The Sun Devils totaled four hits in the frame, highlighted by RBI-singles from Trever Allen and Sewald to go up 4-0 on UCLA.

The Bruins finally got the bats working with a four-run, five-hit, top of the eighth inning to draw even with the Sun Devils. Sean Bouchard led-off with a single and was replaced by Christoph Bono at first after the Bruin center fielder grounded into a fielder’s choice.

Kevin Kramer then singled to put runners on the corners for Trent Chatterton who followed with an RBI-single. The next batter, Moore, proceeded to single on the first pitch he saw to bring UCLA within two.

Then, following a strikeout, Chris Keck delivered the pivotal blow with a two-out double over the right fielder’s head to tie the game at four.

In extra innings, UCLA generated the first good chance to take hold of the game in the bottom of the 11th. With two outs, and none on, Brett Stephens singled up the middle. Stephens then stole second and advanced to third on an errant throw by ASU catcher Brian Serven.

Sean Bouchard followed that with a walk to put runners on the corners. However, Bono went down on strikes to close the opportunity for the Bruins.

UCLA put two runners on in the top of the 13th inning as well, but could not cash in the go-ahead run as a groundout ended the threat.

Two innings later, the Bruins pushed across the go-ahead run to take the lead 5-4n on the Sun Devils. Persico began the inning with a single and moved up to third on a sacrifice and a wild pitch. Then, with one out, another wild pitch brought Persico home to put UCLA on top.

In the bottom half, Arizona State responded to even the score at five. Sewald and Dalton Dinatale led the inning off with back-to-back singles. The Sun Devils then followed with consecutive at-bats that resulted in a fielder’s choice to bring the tying run across.

UCLA finally broke the game open in the top of the 17th with six runs to put the game away. The Bruins combined for four hits, highlighted by the game-winning single by Stephens and a bases-clearing double by Chatterton.

The college basketball teams with the most national championships

Here are the college basketball teams with the most national championships in NCAA tournament history.

2023 Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic: Schedule, times, how to watch the college softball tournament

Here is the schedule, scores and game times for the 2023 Mary Nutter Collegiate Classic, running Feb. 23-26.

The top college softball non-conference tournaments and games to watch this season

Here are the top matchups and tournaments to watch in the non-conference portion of the NCAA softball season.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 16 - 26, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners