baseball-d1 flag

Ohio Athletics | May 23, 2015

Ohio's Sitz no-hits Bowling Green

  This is the first no-hitter in MAC tournament history.

AVON, Ohio -- Junior right-handed starting pitcher Connor Sitz threw the first no-hitter in Mid-American Conference championship history and the first in program history since 1996 as No. 3-seeded Ohio (34-19) eliminated No. 6-seeded Bowling Green (25-29) 6-0 on Saturday in a bracket final at All Pro Freight Stadium.

The Bobcats advanced to the league title game for the third time in program history and first time since 1997. Ohio went on to win the MAC crown and advance to the NCAA championship in 1997 with a 7-6 win against Kent State, a year after falling to Akron, 15-6. The 'Cats will take on either No. 5-seeded Ball State or No. 8-seeded Akron in the 2015 MAC championship game at noon ET Sunday.

Ohio's victory marks the first time the Bobcats have won three games in the MAC championship since 1997. Ohio took down No. 6-seeded Bowling Green 6-2 on Wednesday behind a complete game from junior right-handed starting pitcher Jake Miller, then defeated Western Michigan by a 4-1 margin in 11 innings courtesy of a six-inning shutout performance by righty relief pitcher Logan Cozart and three 11th-inning home runs on Thursday.

With Saturday's win, the Bobcats have won 35 games in a season for the first time since 2003.

Men's college basketball: Led by upset-producing usurpers on the court and sideline, Ohio makes it way through the MAC with March in mind

Ohio upset the defending national champion in the 2021 NCAA tournament and now it's off to a 5-0 start in MAC play.

Gonzaga's Drew Timme affirms national player of the year status, UCLA's top-five win and more Week 1 men's basketball notes

Time for the first Monday citations of the season. Give us your good, your bad, your quirky from the past weekend.

The top 9 returning rushers for the 2021 college football season

Nine running backs each averaged at least 110 rushing yards per game last season. Here are the top returners for 2021.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 28, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners