baseball-d1 flag

Florida State Athletics | March 10, 2016

Florida State combines for no-hitter in walk-off win

  Three pitchers combined for the ninth no-hitter in Florida State history on Wednesday night.

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The trio of Cole Sands, Cobi Johnson and Jim Voyles combined for the ninth no-hitter in Florida State history as the Seminoles earned a 3-2 victory over Toledo on a game-winning bunt by Matt Henderson on Wednesday evening at Mike Martin Field at Dick Howser Stadium.

Sands, Johnson and Voyles, who struck out eight Rocket hitters, became the first pitchers to combine for a no-hitter since Gene Ammann and Lin Garrett accomplished the feat against Wake Forest on March 27, 1968.

Knotted at two-all in the bottom of the ninth, Darren Miller reached base on a lead-off walk. He moved to second on a sacrifice bunt by Hank Truluck and trotted into third following a wild pitch by Toledo’s Michael Jacob. Henderson, facing a full count, laid a bunt single down the first base line to bring home Miller for the game-winner.

That capped off a solid night at the plate for Henderson, who finished 2-for-4, joining Miller (2-2, run) and Cal Raleigh (2-3, run) with multi-hit performances. Also instrumental at the plate for Florida State (10-3) were Gage West and Ben DeLuzio, responsible for the remaining RBI.

“It was a game that we played with a lot of desire and determination,” said head coach Mike Martin. “I also can’t say enough about the pitchers (Sands, Johnson,Jim Voyles). Jim deserved that win because of the way he pitched the last four innings for us—it was truly a thing of beauty. He kept everything in check and when you look at the numbers he didn’t allow a baserunner.”

Raleigh, who began the game as the designated hitter, extended the Florida State first inning with a two-out single up the middle. West moved Raleigh into scoring position, also with a single through the middle, before DeLuzio laced a single past the right side of the infield to score Raleigh from second for the early 1-0 advantage.

Toledo put its first runners on the base pads in the fourth inning when Matt Hansen was hit by a Johnson pitch. Deion Tansel followed with a walk and the pair provided the Rockets a one-run lead as they scored on a Taylor Walls throwing error in Dan Zuchowski’s attempt to reach. Johnson held the Rockets to only two runs as he closed out the frame with a strikeout of Ryan Callahan.

Walls opened Florida State’s sixth inning with a double off the right field wall, moving to third base when John Sansone laid down a sacrifice bunt down the first base line. After an intentional walk of Raleigh, West brought the game to a two-all tie with a groundout to second base, scoring Walls.

Florida State begins ACC play this when the Seminoles host Georgia Tech for a three-game series that begins on Friday evening at 6 p.m. on Mike Martin Field at Dick Howser Stadium at 6 p.m.

8 men's college basketball programs that have surprisingly never been ranked No. 1

These programs have spent the most weeks ranked in the AP poll without reaching No. 1.

Men's basketball scores: The good, the bad and the ugly from this weekend in college basketball

So how was your weekend? In college basketball, they came in all flavors — good, bad and ugly. But with February near, many of them set a tone for the future.

Men's college basketball scores: Auburn's chase for No. 1 with win over Kentucky, Florida State holds off Miami

Auburn improved to 18-1 with an impressive win over Kentucky, which could propel the Tigers to No. 1 in the AP poll.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 26/27, 2022
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners