baseball-d1 flag

Courtney Martinez | | April 27, 2016

7 states with most College World Series trips and titles

  1994 Oklahoma Sooners national champions

The ultimate prize for any Division I baseball program is to see your season end in Omaha. But which states boast the highest numbers of College World Series trips and national championships?

Here are seven that make a case to be called the best college baseball state.

Editor's Note: The numbers are reflected only by current Division I baseball programs. They do not reflect former Division I schools or programs which have been cut.

California (80 CWS appearances, 23 titles, 8 runner-ups)

  Banners in the entrance to USC's Dedeaux Field
California makes a compelling case for the crown of college baseball based on the state's impressive numbers. Twelve schools from the state have made it to the College World Series a combined 80 times. The most appearances in the CWS have come from USC (21), Cal State Fullerton (17) and Stanford (16).

USC claims the most titles out of any program in any state with a massive 12 national championships, the most recent occurring back in 1998. Ten of the titles came during the Rod Dedeaux era, including five straight from 1970-1974.

Other programs to win the CWS include California, Cal State Fullerton, Pepperdine, Stanford, Fresno State and UCLA.

Texas (57 CWS appearances, 7 titles, 7 runner-ups)

  2005 Texas Longhorns national championship team
Six of the state's seven national titles are claimed by the Longhorns. Texas' first title in 1950 -under legendary coach Bibb Falk- was also the first to be won in Omaha. No other program can say they have made the trip to the CWS more than the Longhorns, who have earned an impressive 35 bids.

The Lone Star state had its most successful postseason in 2014. Three of the eight teams in Omaha represented Texas with the Longhorns, TCU and Texas Tech making appearances. For the Red Raiders, it marked the program's first-ever CWS trip.

Florida (54 CWS appearances, 4 titles, 7 runner-ups)

  2001 Miami Hurricanes national championship team
The Sunshine State's big three have combined for 54 trips to the CWS with Miami earning 24 bids, Florida State, 21 and Florida, nine. The 1996 and 1998 CWS mark the only two times all three traveled to Omaha in the postseason.

The only titles for the state have come from the Hurricanes, who earned four titles under skippers Ron Frazer and Jim Morris and ties for fourth-most by a program.

The Seminoles have the most CWS appearances without a national title and have finished as the runner-up three times. The Gators have made recent surges to the CWS but finished second in 2005 and 2011.

Arizona (38 CWS appearances, 9 titles, 7 runner-ups)

  2012 Arizona Wildcats national championship team
The Wildcats and Sun Devils may be the only two programs in the state to reach Omaha, but both have had quite the success at the CWS. Arizona State has made the trip 22 times and returned home as champions five times, although the most recent came in 1981.

Meanwhile, Arizona won its fourth CWS championship just four years ago over threepeat-seeking South Carolina, it's first since 1986 back in the Jerry Kindall era.

Louisiana (21 CWS appearances, 6 titles)

  1996 LSU Tigers national championship team
LSU officially put the state of Louisiana on the college baseball map with its first-ever national championship in 1991. In fact, all six titles for the state have come from the Bayou Bengals. The 1991 LSU team started a dominating decade for the Tigers as they won four titles in the 1990s and another in 2000, all under the legendary Skip Bertman.

Three other programs in Louisiana have made trips to the CWS with Tulane earning a pair of bids and one each for Louisiana-Lafayette and New Orleans.

Oklahoma (29 CWS appearances, 3 titles, 5 runner-ups)

  2012 Arizona Wildcats national championship team
As with the case of Arizona, the Sooners and Cowboys are current representatives for the state of Oklahoma. Tulsa did make a pair of CWS appearances in 1969 and 1971 but the program has since been cut.

The Sooners have claimed a pair of national championships although they came nearly 43 years apart. Oklahoma State has reached the championship series six times with its only title coming in 1959. Despite only three titles, the programs have combined for 29 CWS appearances and the Cowboys' 19 trips trail only Texas, Miami, Florida State, Arizona State and USC.

South Carolina (24 CWS appearances, 2 titles, 4 runner-ups)

  2011 South Carolina national champions
South Carolina and Clemson are hated rivals but both have represented the state well with their rich baseball traditions, including 23 College World Series appearances. The Gamecocks made the trip to the championship series in 1975, 1977 and 2002 before they finally earned their first national championship in 2010. South Carolina followed it up with its second consecutive title in 2011 and made the final in 2012 as well.

Clemson's championship efforts haven't been awarded just yet, as the Tigers haven't claimed a title in 12 CWS appearances nor have they made it to the championship series. The Citadel is the third program in South Carolina to travel to Omaha back in 1990.

2019 NCAA DI women's golf championships: Scores, schedule, how to watch the 2019 tournaments

Here is the schedule, scores and how to watch information for the 2019 NCAA DI women's golf championships. The 2019 national championships are May 17-22 in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

5 teams and golfers to watch for the 2019 DI women's golf championship

Here is a preview for the 2019 NCAA DI women's golf championships. The 2019 national championships are May 17-22 in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

2019 NCAA DI men's golf championships: Scores, schedule, how to watch the 2019 tournaments

Oklahoma State won the national title on its home course last season, defeating Alabama in the finals at Karsten Creek. Led by U.S. Amateur champion Viktor Hovland and the Cowboys have won six tournaments this season, taking the Big 12 title in their previous start.
Division I
College World Series
June 15-26, 2019
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners