baseball-d3 flag | May 16, 2016

2016 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship released

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the 56 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship.

Six teams will compete at four regional sites and eight teams will compete at four  regional sites. All regionals will use a double-elimination format. Forty conference champions qualified automatically.

Winners of the eight regional tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wisconsin, May 27- June 1/2, 2016.



South Region Hosted by Berry College, Mount Berry, Georgia
1. Emory
2. Birmingham-Southern
3. Shenandoah
4. Marietta
5. Huntingdon
6. Thomas More


Mideast Region Hosted by Washington and Jefferson, Washington, Pennsylvania
1. La Roche
2. Randolph-Macon
3. Wooster
4. The College of New Jersey
5. Ohio Wesleyan
6. Johns Hopkins
7. St. Joseph's (Long Island)
8. Widener


Central Region Hosted by Webster University, Sauget, Illinois
1. Wisconsin-Whitewater
2. Wartburg
3. Augustana (Illinois)
4. Washington U. in St. Louis
5. Rose-Hulman
6. Westminster (Missouri)


West Region Hosted by Whitworth University / Spokane Sports Comm., Spokane, Washington
1. Trinity (Texas)
2. Cal Lutheran
3. Case Western Reserve
4. Whitworth
5. Texas-Tyler
6. Pacific Lutheran


Mid-Atlantic Region Hosted by Misericordia University, Moosic, Pennsylvania
1. Misericordia
2. St. John Fisher
3. Salisbury
4. Haverford
5. UMass Boston
6. Kean
7. Salve Regina
8. Penn State - Berks


New York Region Hosted by SUNY Cortland, Auburn, New York
1. SUNY Cortland
2. Ramapo
3. Frostburg State
4. Susquehanna
5. Union (New York)
6. Castleton


New England Region Hosted by Eastern Connecticut State University, Willimantic, Connecticut
1. Wheaton (Massachusetts)
2. Oswego St.
3. Tufts
4. Keystone
5. Suffolk
6. Mitchell
7. Eastern Connecticut State
8. Salem State


Midwest Region Hosted by Wisconsin-La Crosse, La Crosse, Wisconsin
1. Wisconsin-La Crosse
2. Concordia Chicago
3. North Central (Illinois)
4. St. Scholastica
5. Saint John’s (Minnesota)
6. Luther
7. Kalamazoo
8. Beloit


First-round matchups for the championship site will be as follows:
South vs. New York
West vs. Midwest
Mid-Atlantic vs. New England
Central vs. Mideast


Conferences receiving automatic qualification are as follows:

Conference Automatic-Qualifier Team
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference La Roche
American Southwest Conference Texas -Tyler
Capital Athletic Conference Salisbury
Centennial Conference Haverford
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Augustana (Illinois)
Colonial States Athletic Conference Keystone
Commonwealth Conference Widener
Commonwealth Coast Conference Salve Regina
Freedom Conference Misericordia
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Suffolk
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Luther
Landmark Conference Susquehanna
Liberty League Union (New York)
Little East Conference Eastern Connecticut State
Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference Salem State
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Kalamazoo
Midwest Conference Beloit
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Saint John’s (Minnesota)
New England Collegiate Conference Mitchell
New England Small College Athletic Conference Tufts
New England Women's and Men's Athletics Conference Wheaton (Massachusetts)
New Jersey Athletic Conference Ramapo
North Atlantic Conference Castleton
North Coast Athletic Conference Wooster
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State - Berks
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Concordia Chicago
Northwest Conference Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic Conference Marietta
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Randolph-Macon
President’s Athletic Conference Thomas More
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Westminster (Missouri)
Skyline Conference St. Joseph's (Long Island)
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Cal Lutheran
Southern Athletic Association Birmingham-Southern
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Trinity (Texas)
State University of New York Athletic Conference SUNY Cortland
USA South Athletic Conference Huntingdon
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Wisconsin-La Crosse



Pool B
Case Western Reserve



Pool C
Frostburg State
Johns Hopkins Kean
The College of New Jersey
North Central (Illinois)
Ohio Wesleyan
Oswego St.
St. John Fisher
Washington U. in St. Louis

In the 2016 Division III championship game, SUNY Cortland SUNY Cortland topped Wisconsin-La Crosse, 6-2, in game two of the championship series to win the 2015 DIII Baseball Championship. This was the first baseball title for SUNY Cortland.


College baseball rankings: Arkansas emerges as No. 1 for first time in poll history

For the second week in a row, there’s a new team from the SEC West atop the D1Baseball Top 25 poll. Arkansas ascended to No. 1 for the first time in the seven-year history of the D1Baseball rankings.

Way-early picks for 8 DII baseball teams we'll see in Cary in 2021

Let's take a look into the crystal ball and predict which eight teams we may see in Cary, N.C., for the 2021 DII baseball championship.

College baseball: UCF clinches series win over No. 1 Ole Miss

After picking up a game one win on Friday night, the UCF baseball team split Saturday's doubleheader against No. 1 Ole Miss to clinch the series victory over the top-ranked program.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners