baseball-d1 flag | May 31, 2016

NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announces the field of 64 teams

High Five: College Baseball's Best Fans

INDIANAPOLIS – The field of 64 teams competing for the 2016 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced on Monday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

Interactive Bracket

The national top eight seeds are Florida (47-13), Louisville (47-12), Miami [FL] (45-11), Texas A&M (45-14), Texas Tech (41-16), Mississippi State (41-16-1), Clemson (42-18) and LSU (42-18). 

The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) set a conference record and tied the all-time mark of having 10 teams in the championship field. The ACC ties the 2014 mark set by the Southeastern Conference (SEC), which had seven teams in the field. Conference USA and the Pacific-12 (Pac-12) have four, while the American Athletic Conference, Big 12, Big Ten, Big West all have three institutions in the field.

Making the tournament for the first time includes Alabama State of the Southwestern Athletic Conference, Fairfield of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, St. Mary’s (California) of the West Coast Conference and Utah Valley of the Western Athletic Conference. Overall, 25 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami (Florida) is in the field for the 44th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 39th straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (25) and Rice (22).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

The 70th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Atlantic Coast 10 Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida St., Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami (FL), North Carolina St., Virginia and Wake Forest
Southeastern 7 Florida, LSU, Mississippi St., Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt
Conference USA 4 Fla. Atlantic, Louisiana Tech, Rice, Southern Miss.
Pacific-12 4 Arizona, Arizona St., Utah, Washington
American Athletic 3 East Carolina, Tulane, UConn
Big Ten 3 Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio St.
Big 12 3 Oklahoma St., TCU, Texas Tech
Big West 3 Cal St. Fullerton, Long Beach St., UC Santa Barbara
Colonial 2 UNCW, William & Mary
Southland 2 Sam Houston St., Southeastern La.
Sun Belt 2 South Ala., UL Lafayette
West Coast 2 Gonzaga, St. Mary’s (CA)
America East 1 Binghamton
Atlantic-10 1 Rhode Island
Atlantic Sun 1 Stetson
Big East 1 Xavier
Big South 1 Coastal Caro.
Horizon 1 Wright St.
Ivy 1 Princeton
Metro Atlantic 1 Fairfield
Mid-American 1 Western Mich.
Mid-Eastern 1 Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley 1 Dallas Baptis t
Mountain West 1 New Mexico
Northeast 1 Bryant
Ohio Valley 1 Southeast Mo. St.
Patriot 1 Navy
Southern 1 Western Carolina
Southwestern 1 Alabama St.
Summit 1 Oral Roberts
Western Athletic 1 Utah Valley

2016 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship (all times Eastern)

Baton Rouge Regional hosted by LSU

#1 *LSU (42-18) vs. #4 Utah Valley (37-21), 3 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Rice (35-22) vs. #3 Southeastern La. (39-19), 8 p.m., ESPN3


Charlottesville Regional hosted by Virginia

#1 *Virginia (37-20) vs. #4 William & Mary (29-29), 1 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Bryant (47-10) vs. #3 East Carolina (34-21), 6 p.m., ESPN3


Clemson Regional hosted by Clemson

#1 *Clemson (42-18) vs. #4 Western Caro. (30-29), 7 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Oklahoma St. (36-20) vs. #3 Nebraska (37-20), Noon, ESPNU


College Station Regional hosted by Texas A&M

#1 *Texas A&M (45-14) vs. #4 Binghamton (30-23), 9 p.m., SECN/ESPN3

#2 Minnesota (34-20) vs. #3 Wake Forest (34-25), 4 p.m., ESPN3


Columbia Regional hosted by South Carolina

#1 *South Carolina (42-15) vs. #4 Rhode Island (30-25), 7 p.m., ESPN3

#2 UNCW (39-17) vs. #3 Duke (33-22), 1 p.m., ESPN3


Coral Gables Regional hosted by Miami (FL)

#1 *Miami (FL) (45-11) vs. #4 Stetson (29-29), 7 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Fla. Atlantic (38-17) vs. #3 Long Beach St. (36-20), 1 p.m., ESPN3

Fort Worth Regional hosted by TCU

#1 *TCU (42-15) vs. #4 Oral Roberts (38-19), 7:30 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Arizona St. (34-21) vs. Gonzaga (35-19), 3 p.m., ESPN3


Gainesville Regional hosted by Florida

#1 *Florida (47-13) vs. #4 Bethune-Cookman (29-25), 6 p.m., SECN/ESPN3

#2 Georgia Tech (36-23) vs. #3 UConn (37-23), 1 p.m., ESPN3


Lafayette Regional hosted by UL Lafayette

#1 *UL Lafayette (41-19) vs. #4 Princeton (24-19), 8 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Arizona (38-20) vs. #3 Sam Houston St. (41-20), 2 p.m., ESPN3


Louisville Regional hosted by Louisville

#1 *Louisville (47-12) vs. #4 Western Mich. (22-32), 6 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Ohio St. (43-18) vs. #3 Wright St. (44-15), 2 p.m., ESPN3


Lubbock Regional hosted by Texas Tech

#1 *Texas Tech (41-16) vs. #4 Fairfield (32-24), 3 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Dallas Baptist (41-17) vs. #3 New Mexico (38-21), 7 p.m., ESPN3


Nashville Regional hosted by Vanderbilt

#1 *Vanderbilt (43-17) vs. #4 Xavier (30-28), 8 p.m., ESPN3

#2 UC Santa Barbara (37-18) vs. #3 Washington (32-21), 3 p.m., ESPN3


Oxford Regional hosted by Ole Miss

#1 *Ole Miss (43-17) vs. #4 Utah (25-27), 8 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Tulane (39-19) vs. #3 Boston College (31-20), 4 p.m., ESPN3


Raleigh Regional hosted by North Carolina St.

#1 *North Carolina St. (35-20) vs. #4 Navy (42-14), 7 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Coastal Caro. (44-15) vs. #3 St. Mary’s (CA) (33-23), 2 p.m., ESPN3


Starkville Regional hosted by Mississippi St.

#1 *Mississippi St. (41-16-1) vs. #4 Southeast Mo. St. (39-19), 2:30 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Cal St. Fullerton (35-21) vs. #3 Louisiana Tech (40-18), 7:30 p.m., ESPN3


Tallahassee Regional hosted by Florida St.

#1 *Florida St. (37-20) vs. #4 Alabama St. (38-15), 6 p.m., ESPN3

#2 Southern Miss. (40-18) vs. #3 South Ala. (40-20), Noon, ESPN3


Pac-12 announces creation of Pac-12 baseball tournament in partnership with the city of Scottsdale and The Arizona Sports & Entertainment Commission

The Pac-12 announced Wednesday a new conference championship event in Scottsdale, Arizona for baseball.

Notable college baseball players who starred in the Little League World Series

Hundreds of schools across three divisions of NCAA baseball have fielded teams for numerous years, making it difficult to pinpoint every athlete that's participated on a college program and in the 73-tournament-old LLWS. But though this compilation isn't comprehensive, we've put together a list of some of the most notable players who stepped on the collegiate and LLWS baseball diamond at some point in their careers.

Use of one-way electronic devices approved in college baseball

Display boards, in-ear communication to the catcher are allowed for use in all three NCAA divisions for the 2021-22 season.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 26/27, 2022
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners