baseball-d1 flag

Miami Athletics | June 8, 2016

2016 Golden Spikes semifinalists announced

DURHAM, N.C. – Junior Zack Collins was among the 25 amateur baseball players selected as semifinalists for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award, USA Baseball announced Wednesday.

One of the nation’s most talented sluggers, Collins leads the third-ranked Hurricanes in home runs (12), RBI (52), on-base percentage (.540), slugging percentage (.630) and walks (66). A 2016 first-team All-ACC selection at catcher, Collins ranks among the nation’s active career leaders in home runs (38, fourth), RBI (176, fourth) and walks (165, first).

NCAA Baseball


Collins became the first Miami player to earn back-to-back spots on the All-ACC First Team since Jon Jay (2005, 2006) when he was selected for the honor in late May.

Collins’ .364 average is the eighth-highest in the ACC entering the NCAA postseason, while his 66 walks and .540 on-base percentage lead all ACC players. His .630 slugging percentage is the third-best mark in the conference, and his 52 RBI are tied for ninth-most in the ACC.

Collins, who is also a semifinalist for the 2016 Dick Howser Trophy (top college player) and Johnny Bench Award (top college catcher), is aiming to become just the second Golden Spikes winner in program history; Pat Burrell previously won the award in 1998.

USA Baseball officials will announce the finalists for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award on Monday, June 13.  To select the finalists, the list of semifinalists is sent to a voting body consisting of past Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and select current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2016.  This announcement officially marks the opening of voting for amateur baseball fans from across the country on As part of the selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names.  Voting will be open until Wednesday, June 8.

The 2016 Golden Spikes Award winner will be named on Thursday, June 30, at a presentation in Los Angeles.  The finalists and their families will be honored at the Rod Dedeaux Foundation Dinner that evening at the Jonathan Club in downtown Los Angeles.

Last year, University of Arkansas’ Andrew Benintendi took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that includes Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

The complete 2016 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School

Seth Beer, OF, Fr., Clemson
Jake Burger, 3B, So., Missouri State
C.J. Chatham, SS, Jr., Florida Atlantic
Zack Collins, C, Jr., Miami
Will Craig, 1B, Jr., Wake Forest
Brett Cumberland, C, So., California
Nick Feight, C, So., UNC-Wilmington
Jameson Fisher, C/IF, R-Jr., Southeastern Louisiana
Anfernee Grier, OF, Jr., Auburn
Thomas Hackimer, P, Sr., St. Johns
Dakota Hudson, P, Jr., Mississippi State
Connor Jones, P, Jr., Virginia
Eric Lauer, P, Jr., Kent State
Kyle Lewis, OF, Jr., Mercer
Brendan McKay, IF/P, So., Louisville
Sheldon Neuse, 3B, Jr., Oklahoma
AJ Puckett, P, Jr., Pepperdine
Heath Quinn, OF, Jr., Samford
Troy Rallings, P, Sr., Washington
Corey Ray, OF, Jr., Louisville
Nick Senzel, 3B, Jr., Tennessee
Jordan Sheffield, P, R-So., Vanderbilt
Logan Shore, P, Jr., Florida
Boomer White, IF, Jr., Texas A&M
Kyle Wright, P, So., Vanderbilt

No. 14 TCU beats No. 2 Kansas for first time in Lawrence, Duke outlasts No. 17 Miami and more from a college hoops Saturday

Here's everything you need to know from men's college basketball on Saturday, Jan. 21, 2023.

11 dark horse Final Four teams in men's college basketball, ranked by Andy Katz

NCAA's Andy Katz picks 11 potential Final Four sleepers for the 2022-23 men's college basketball season.

Here are the college baseball coaches with the most College World Series victories

These are the 12 coaches who have the most wins in the Men's College World Series.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 16 - 26, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners