baseball-d1 flag | June 18, 2016

Coastal Carolina’s Gilmore named NCBWA Coach of the Year

OMAHA, Nebraska – After leading Coastal Carolina to the greatest season in program history, including its first-ever trip to the 2016 College World Series, CCU’s Gary Gilmore has been named to National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association  National Coach of the Year.

“Congratulations to Coach Gilmore on his first NCBWA National Coach of the Year award and getting his Chanticleers to Omaha,” NCBWA Executive Director Bo Carter said. “He has given so much time and energy to that program and for him to lead his team to the pinnacle of the sport is a testament to his loyalty and dedication.”

Gilmore’s squad punched its first ticket to the CWS with a thrilling 4-3 walk-off victory over LSU in game two of the Baton Rouge Super Regional last weekend. The victory was the 49th of the season for the Chanticleers, who have made 15 NCAA Regional appearances and three NCAA Super Regional appearances under Gilmore’s watch in Conway, S.C.

CCU opened the season ranked No. 24 in the NCBWA preseason poll and after dropping out for several weeks, returned to the rankings on April 18 and have won 38 of its last 46 games. The Chants have won 841 games during Gilmore’s tenure and arrive in Omaha winners of 15 of their last 16 games, including a 5-1 mark in NCAA Tournament play.  CCU won the Super Regional at LSU in two games, clinching in dramatic, walk-off fashion last Sunday night.

The Big South regular season and tournament champions had six players earn all-league honors, while Gilmore was named Big South Coach of the Year for the ninth time, outfielder Connor Owings was the Big South Player of the Year and righthander Andrew Beckwith was the Big South Pitcher of the Year. Shortstop Michael Paez was taken in the fourth round by the New York Mets during last week’s MLB Draft.  Owings and designated hitter G.K. Young were recently named first team NCBWA All-Americans, while third baseman Zach Remillard and righthander Mike Morrison were named to the third team.

2016 Gary Gilmore Coastal Carolina
2015 Paul Mainieri LSU
2014 Mike Gillespie UC Irvine
2013 Tracy Smith Indiana
2012 Matt Senk Stony Brook
2011 David Esquer California
2010 Jim Schlossnagle TCU
2009 Brian O’Connor Virginia
2008 Mike Batesole Fresno State

College football's longest active road winning streaks

These college football teams have the longest active road winning streaks in the FBS, entering 2021-22.

The college football fan's guide to Week 14 games

We're onto December and into Week 14 of the college football season. Here's what you need to know for this week.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 26/27, 2022
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners