baseball-d1 flag

NCBWA | January 31, 2017

NCBWA announces 2017 DI preseason All-America teams

  Coastal Carolina's Andrew Beckwith is among the first team pitching staff.

DALLAS – The move toward the 159th season of intercollegiate baseball and the eventual winner of the coveted Dick Howser Trophy has begun with the selection of the 17th annual All-America first, second and third teams.

With 17 returnees from the 2016 postseason NCBWA All-America squad and strong representation from teams in the 2016 NCAA Division I World Series, the elite squad features a first team pitching staff with a composite record of 65-13 for six standouts and 15 position players or designated hitters with 10-plus home runs.

Eighteen different conferences are represented, along with nine conference championships teams and 23 NCAA Regional squads. The three All-America squads are filled with 2016 conference players and pitchers of the year.

Pacing the 2017 preseason team is 2016 Dick Howser Trophy recipient Seth Beer of Clemson. The ’16 Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year and consensus All-America choice became the first freshman ever to rein in the Howser Trophy after batting .369 with 18 home runs and 70 RBI to win the ACC Triple Crown for hitting.

Among the top-notch first team pitching staff, righthander Andrew Beckwith of defending NCAA champion Coastal Carolina (winning its first NCAA team title in any sport and the first DI championship by any school in the Big South Conference) leads the way with a 15-1 overall record and 1.85 earned run average. Fellow top honorees Alex Faedo (13-3) of Florida and Kade McClure (12-0) of Louisville are among the NCAA’s best returnees in terms of total victories. The four first-team relief hurlers had a total of 48 saves, 22-7 record and earned run averages under 2.65.

Besides Beer, the first-team outfield has the Southeastern Conference’s ’16 batting average leader in Jake Mangum (.408), All-Big West standout Keston Hiura (.358-7 homers-41 RBI) and All-SEC OF Jeren Kendall (.332-9-59) of Vanderbilt.

Returning first team NCBWA All-America 2B Brian Mims of UNC Wilmington returns as a top tier selection, while Louisville’s McClure and first team utility player Brendan McKay (.333-6-41, 12-4 pitching record, 2.30 ERA) both garnered pre-2017 honors to their similar 2016 NCBWA laurels. Half the starting infield group features Mims and first team 1B Nick Feight (.349-21-91) – both of UNCW.

TCU, rated No. 1 nationally in several preseason surveys and a participant in two of the last three NCAA World Series, landed DH Luken Baker (.379-11-62) on the first team, along with second team relief pitcher Durbin Feltman, second team 3B Evan Barzilli and third team starting pitcher Brian Howard for head coach Jim Schlossnagle’s crew.

Previous NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2016 also have featured the likes of 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of USC, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern U., 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, P-1B A.J. Reed from Kentucky; OF Andrew Benintendi from Arkansas, among others.

First Team
Name School
Nick Feight UNCW
Dylan Busby Florida State
Brian Mims UNCW
Taylor Walls Florida State
Jake Burger Missouri State
Seth Beer Clemson
Keston Hiura UC Irvine
Jake Mangum Mississippi State
Jeren Kendall Vanderbilt
Luken Baker TCU
Brendan McKay Louisville
Andrew Beckwirth Coastal Carolina
Alex Faedo Florida
Clarke Schmidt South Carolina
J.B. Bukauskas North Carolina
Brigham Hill Texas A&M
Kade McClure Louisville
Sam Donko VCU
Dylan Moore UL Lafayette
Pat Krall  Clemson
Tyler Johnson South Carolina
Second Team
Name School
Evan Skoug TCU
Joe Davis Houston
Clayton Daniel Jacksonville State
Devin Hairston Louisville
Elliot Barzilli TCU
Kel Johnson Georgia Tech
Bryson Bowman Western Carolina
Dwayna Williams-Sutton East Carolina
Brian Miller North Carolina
Alex Destino South Carolina
Cole Hallum Campbell
Alex Lange LSU
Tyler Wilson Rhode Island
Kyle Wright Vanderbilt
Evan Kruczynski East Carolina
Colton Eastman Cal State Fullerton
Jayson Rose Utah
Durbin Feltman TCU
Glenn Otto Rice
Kyle Nelson UC Santa Barbara
Joe Ingle East Carolina
Third Team
Name School
Cal Raleigh Florida State
Evan White Kentucky
Ernie Clement Virginia
Nick Madrigal Oregon State
Johnny Ruiz Miami
Trevor Craport Georgia Tech
Jackson Lueck Florida State
Tyler Jones Air Force
Reid Russell Lamar
Chris Osborne  SE Missouri State
JJ Schwarz Florida
Austin Edens  Samford
Jake Meters Nebraska
Parker Dunshee Wake Forest
Bryce Fehmel Oregon State
Brian Howard TCU
Jesse Lepore Miami
Michael Mediavilla Miami
Ricardo Salinas Rice
Troy Montemayor Baylor
Chad Luensmann Nebraska
Brady Womacks Oral Roberts
Tyler Buffett Oklahoma State


Notable college baseball players who starred in the Little League World Series

Hundreds of schools across three divisions of NCAA baseball have fielded teams for numerous years, making it difficult to pinpoint every athlete that's participated on a college program and in the 73-tournament-old LLWS. But though this compilation isn't comprehensive, we've put together a list of some of the most notable players who stepped on the collegiate and LLWS baseball diamond at some point in their careers.

Action clock modifications and other rule changes in college baseball

To improve pace of play, pitchers in college baseball can make only one step-off or fake throw per batter.

The Golden Spikes Award: The ultimate guide

Here's a complete look at the Golden Spikes Award, which has been awarded annually to the best amateur baseball player in the country since 1978.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 28, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners