baseball-d1 flag

Oklahoma State Athletics | April 24, 2017

Unranked Oklahoma State outlasts No. 5 Texas Tech in extra-inning affair

  Oklahoma State earned a big victory on Sunday in defeating the fifth-ranked Red Raiders of Texas Tech.

LUBBOCK, Texas – Oklahoma State recorded its second conference series win of the season Sunday with an 11-inning triumph over No. 5 Texas Tech as the Cowboys prevailed in a 3-1 contest at Rip Griffin Park.

With the win, OSU improved to 23-16 overall and 6-9 in Big 12 play, while the Red Raiders are now 33-10 and 9-6 in the league.

Garrett Benge drove in two of OSU's three runs in the contest, tying the game with an RBI single in the ninth and driving in another run with a single to put the Cowboys ahead in the 11th.

OSU used four pitchers in the contest, and that group combined to hold the Big 12's top hitting team to only six hits. Starter Blake Battenfield was masterful in 7 1/3 innings of work as the junior right-hander allowed just one run on four hits while striking out five and allowing one walk.

Carson Teel earned his second victory of the weekend in relief – he was also the winner in Friday's opener – as the southpaw kept TTU off the scoreboard in the 10th and 11th innings to improve to 4-3 on the year.

RELATEDPitt drops No. 3 UNCLittle shake-up among top four in latest poll | Rankings

Sunday's game proved to be a pitcher's duel between Battenfield and TTU starter Ryan Shetter over the first five innings as neither offense could get much going.

The scoreless affair extended into the bottom of the seventh when, with two outs, Orlando Garcia delivered his 10th home run of the season, a solo blast to left field to put the Red Raiders up 1-0.

TTU clung to that lead going into the ninth and called on closer John McMillon to seal the deal. But the freshman righty issued back-to-back walks on nine pitches to Ryan Cash and Garrett McCain to open the inning and was pulled after going down in the count 2-0 to Benge.

Jose Quezada came out of the bullpen and on the first pitch he threw, Benge deposited the ball into center field for an RBI single to tie the score at 1-1.

A strikeout and a double play ended OSU's threat to take the lead, but Trey Cobb worked a scoreless ninth for the Pokes to send the game into extra innings.

After OSU failed to score in the 10th, TTU looked poised to win in the bottom of the inning following back-to-back singles to open the frame.

Tech's next batter, Cody Farhat, laid down a bunt that Teel fielded and fired to third base for the force out. But the Cowboys were not out of trouble as a wild pitch and intentional walk loaded the bases with just one out.

However, Teel rose to the occasion. With the infield in, first baseman Michael Neustifter snagged a ground ball off the bat of Connor Beck and fired home for out number two, and Teel then struck out Josh Jung to end the inning.

That momentum carried into the 11th. Cash would reach base on a fielder's choice, then advance to second on a groundout and third on a wild pitch. Benge then came through with the clutch two-out single to make the score 2-1, and Colin Simpson followed with an RBI double into the right-center field gap to add an insurance run.

Teel retired the Red Raiders in order in the bottom of the inning, striking out Cameron Warren to end it.

OSU returns to action Tuesday when the Cowboys host Arkansas-Pine Bluff at Allie P. Reynolds Stadium. The Pokes do not leave the state of Oklahoma to play for the remainder of the regular season.

The college careers of the 2021 US Olympic wrestlers

Here's a close look at the collegiate careers of the men's freestyle, women's freestyle and men's Greco-Roman 2021 Olympic team members.

Dan Hodge Trophy: History, winners, and how it works

Here's the history of the Dan Hodge Trophy, named after one of the all-time greats and given annually to the top college wrestler every year since 1985.

Naismith Trophy announces finalists for women's Defensive Player of the Year Award

The finalists for the 2021 women's Defensive Player of the Year represent four different conferences.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 19-30, 2021
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners