baseball-d1 flag | May 30, 2017

2017 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship bracket announced

INDIANAPOLIS – The field of 64 teams competing for the 2017 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The national top eight seeds are Oregon St. (49-4), North Carolina (47-12), Florida (42-16), LSU (43-17), Texas Tech (43-15), TCU (42-16), Louisville (47-10) and Stanford (40-14).  


The Southeastern Conference (SEC) leads the way with eight teams selected. Both the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) and Big 12 Conference have seven participants in the field. The Big Ten Conference ties a conference record with five, while the Pac-12 Conference has four in the field. The American Athletic Conference (AAC) has three and the Big East Conference, Big West Conference, Conference USA, Missouri Valley Conference and Southland Conference all have two teams each.  

Florida Gulf Coast and Davidson are each making their first appearances in the championship in 2017.  Holy Cross is in the tournament for the first time since 1978, while Yale earns its first bid since 1993 and West Virginia is in for the first time since 1996.

Florida State now has the longest consecutive streak with its 40th straight appearance, with the Miami (Florida) streak of appearances ending at 44.  Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (26) and Rice (23).

While 15 of the regional sites are scheduled to be played Friday through Monday, June 2-5, competition at the Stanford Regional will begin Thursday, June 1 and will conclude either Sunday or Monday, June 4 or 5. BYU, which won the automatic qualifier by capturing the West Coast Conference tournament championship, does not participate in any athletics competition on Sundays. Therefore, if the Cougars advance to the regional final, that game will take place June 5; otherwise that regional championship game is scheduled for Sunday, June 4.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Tuesday, June 6 at approximately 8 a.m. (ET). The 71st Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 17, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Southeastern 8 (Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi St., Texas A&M, Vanderbilt)
Atlantic Coast 7 (Clemson, Florida St., Louisville, North Carolina, North Carolina St., Virginia, Wake Forest)
Big 12 7 (Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma St., TCU, Texas, Texas Tech, West Virginia)
Big Ten 5 (Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska)
Pacific-12 4 (Arizona, Oregon St., Stanford, UCLA)
American Athletic 3 (Houston, South Fla., UCF)
Big East 2 [St. John’s (NY), Xavier]
Big West 2 (Cal St. Fullerton, Long Beach St.)
Conference USA 2 (Rice, Southern Miss.)
Missouri Valley 2 (DBU, Missouri St.)
Southland 2 (Sam Houston St., Southeastern La.)
America East 1 (UMBC)
Atlantic-10 1 (Davidson)
Atlantic Sun 1 (FGCU)
Big South 1 (Radford)
Colonial 1 (Delaware)
Horizon 1 (Ill.-Chicago)
Ivy 1 (Yale)
Metro Atlantic 1 (Marist)
Mid-American 1 (Ohio)
Mid-Eastern 1 (Bethune-Cookman)
Mountain West 1 (San Diego St.)
Northeast 1 (Central Conn. St.)
Ohio Valley 1 (Tennessee Tech)
Patriot 1 (Holy Cross)
Southern 1 (UNCG)
Southwestern 1 (Texas Southern)
Summit 1 (Oral Roberts)
Sun Belt 1 (South Ala.)
West Coast 1 (BYU)
Western Athletic 1 (Sacramento St.)
2017 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship (all times Eastern)
Baton Rouge Regional hosted by LSU
#1 *LSU (43-17) vs. #4 Texas Southern (20-32), 3:30 p.m., SECN
#2 Southeastern La. (36-20) vs. #3 Rice (31-29), 8 p.m., ESPN3
Chapel Hill Regional hosted by North Carolina
#1 *North Carolina (47-12) vs. #4 Davidson (32-24), 6 p.m., ESPN3
#2 FGCU (42-18) vs. #3 Michigan (42-15), 1 p.m., ESPN3
Clemson Regional hosted by Clemson
#1 *Clemson (39-19) vs. #4 UNCG (35-22), 7 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Vanderbilt (33-22-1) vs. #3 St. John’s (NY) (42-11), Noon, SECN
Corvallis Regional hosted by Oregon St.
#1 *Oregon St. (49-4) vs. #4 Holy Cross (23-27), 11 p.m., ESPNU
#2 Nebraska (35-20-1) vs. #3 Yale (32-16), 4 p.m., ESPN3
Fayetteville Regional hosted by Arkansas
#1 *Arkansas (42-17) vs. #4 Oral Roberts (42-14), 8 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Missouri St. (40-17) vs. #3 Oklahoma St. (30-25), 3 p.m., ESPN3
Fort Worth Regional hosted by TCU
#1 *TCU (42-16) vs. #4 Central Conn. St. (36-20), 9 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Virginia (42-14) vs. #3 DBU (40-19), 4 p.m., ESPNU
Gainesville Regional hosted by Florida
#1 *Florida (42-16) vs. #4 Marist (32-21), 7 p.m., SECN
#2 South Fla. (41-17) vs. #3 Bethune-Cookman (33-23), 1 p.m., ESPN3
Hattiesburg Regional hosted by Southern Miss.
#1 *Southern Miss. (48-14) vs. #4 Ill.-Chicago (39-15), TBA, ESPN3
#2 Mississippi St. (36-24) vs. #3 South Ala. (39-19), TBA, ESPN3
Houston Regional hosted by Houston
#1 *Houston (40-19) vs. #4 Iowa (38-20), 8 p.m., ESPNU
#2 Baylor (34-21) vs. #3 Texas A&M (36-21), 3 p.m., ESPN2
Lexington Regional hosted by Kentucky
#1 *Kentucky (39-20) vs. #4 Ohio (31-26), Noon, ESPNU
#2 Indiana (33-22-2) vs. #3 North Carolina St. (34-23), 7 p.m., ESPN3
Long Beach Regional hosted by Long Beach St.
#1 *Long Beach St. (37-17-1) vs. #4 San Diego St. (41-19), 11 p.m., ESPN2
#2 Texas (37-22) vs. #3 UCLA (30-25), 7 p.m., ESPN2
Louisville Regional hosted by Louisville
#1 *Louisville (47-10) vs. #4 Radford (27-30), 6 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Oklahoma (34-22) vs. #3 Xavier (32-25), 2 p.m., ESPN3
Lubbock Regional hosted by Texas Tech
#1 *Texas Tech (43-15) vs. #4 Delaware (34-21), 3 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Arizona (37-19) vs. #3 Sam Houston St. (40-20), 7 p.m., ESPN3
Stanford Regional hosted by Stanford
#1 *Stanford (40-14) vs. #4 Sacramento St. (32-27), 9 p.m., ESPN3
#2 Cal St. Fullerton (34-21) vs. #3 BYU (37-19), 4 p.m., ESPN3
Tallahassee Regional hosted by Florida St.
#1 *Florida St. (39-20) vs. #4 Tennessee Tech (40-19), 6 p.m., ESPN3
#2 UCF (40-20) vs. #3 Auburn (35-24), Noon, ESPN2
Winston-Salem Regional hosted by Wake Forest
#1 *Wake Forest (39-18) vs. #4 UMBC (23-23), 7 p.m., ESPN3
#2 West Virginia (34-24) vs. #3 Maryland (37-21), 2 p.m., ESPN3

Pac-12 announces creation of Pac-12 baseball tournament in partnership with the city of Scottsdale and The Arizona Sports & Entertainment Commission

The Pac-12 announced Wednesday a new conference championship event in Scottsdale, Arizona for baseball.

Notable college baseball players who starred in the Little League World Series

Hundreds of schools across three divisions of NCAA baseball have fielded teams for numerous years, making it difficult to pinpoint every athlete that's participated on a college program and in the 73-tournament-old LLWS. But though this compilation isn't comprehensive, we've put together a list of some of the most notable players who stepped on the collegiate and LLWS baseball diamond at some point in their careers.

Use of one-way electronic devices approved in college baseball

Display boards, in-ear communication to the catcher are allowed for use in all three NCAA divisions for the 2021-22 season.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 26/27, 2022
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners