baseball-d1 flag

Mike Lopresti | | June 15, 2017

Toppling No. 1 Oregon State a tall order for the CWS field

  Oregon State, which won 23 straight games earlier in the year, is currently on a 21-game winning streak.

Eight teams are headed for Omaha, and seven of them face the same sobering question: Can anyone stop Oregon State?

Oh, sure, they all have their good reasons for hope in the College World Series:

Louisville is 52-10 and just led 17 of 18 innings against Kentucky in the super regional, but...

Oregon State’s 54-4 record is the highest winning percentage carried to Omaha in 35 years. And the Beavers haven’t trailed at the end of an inning in seven games.

BRACKET: Interactive 2017 College World Series bracket

Cal State Fullerton’s pitchers have allowed just nine runs in six NCAA tournament games, and one run in the past 25 innings, but... 

Oregon State’s pitching staff has a 1.80 earned run average — three-fourths of a run lower than any other team in the nation — and is allowing a .197 batting average.

LSU has won 16 games in a row and 21 of its last 23, heading to the CWS on a roll. The combined score in the 16-game winning streak is a dominant 136-45, but...

Oregon State has won 21 in a row by a combined score of 158-41.

Florida State’s starting pitchers have allowed nine earned runs in 48 NCAA tournament innings, good for a nifty 1.89 ERA, but...

Oregon State’s rotation is so deep, the Beavers could start a guy in Bryce Fehmel who had pitched just one inning since May 6 and watch him throw a five-hit complete game to finish off Vanderbilt.

Texas A&M showed considerable resilience, rallying from down 6-2 in the second game to beat plucky Davidson in the Super Regional, but...

Oregon State hasn’t had to rally much. The Beavers have scored first in 43 games and are 42-1 in those contests.

TCU’s pitchers have struck out 593 batters, with 10-plus Ks in 27 games, but...

Oregon State’s strikeout-to-walk ratio is the second best in the nation, and it's 52-11 in the NCAA tournament.

Florida has shown a flair for the dramatic, winning 18 one-run games, the most in the nation, and having three NCAA tournament games go into extra innings, but...

Oregon State hasn’t dealt with many tight squeezes lately, winning its NCAA tournament games by an average of seven runs. But during the season, the Beavers went 13-1 in one-run decisions.

So this College World Series has a favorite all right. A whopper. It has a few other things, too:

The only two Division I players to hit four home runs in a game this year — Louisville’s Brendan McKay and Cal State Fullerton’s Scott Hurst.

The nation’s leader in saves: TCU’s Durbin Feltman with 17.

A head coach — Florida State’s Mike Martin — in his 38th year on the job.

Cal State Fullerton, the only team to win a super regional on the road.

Louisville, the team that has gone 5-0 in the NCAA tournament despite its biggest star — McKay — in a 3-for-20 funk at the plate.

LSU, the team in the field with the most national championships — six.

Florida State, making its 22nd CWS appearance. That puts the Seminoles tied with Arizona for third for most trips to Omaha. But they’re in a league by themselves in having the most College World Series berths without winning it. Clemson is way back at 12.

Texas A&M, the team that left 17 runners on base in its super regional opener but still managed to win in 15 innings against Davidson.

Florida State, the narrow survivor that was one strike away from elimination in the regional against Auburn. The Seminoles ended up getting by 8-7 in 10 innings and have never looked back, winning the past three games 32-6.

The highest draft choice last summer not to sign — TCU pitcher Nick Lodolo, who was the 41st overall pick by Pittsburgh.

The relief pitcher taken by Milwaukee with the 836th pick in the 2014 draft, Texas A&M’s Turner Larkins. What’s noteworthy is who went next at 837th to San Diego: Heisman Trophy winner Johnny Manziel.

The leadoff hitter whose mother coached a women’s national basketball champion — LSU’s Kramer Robertson is the son of Baylor’s Kim Mulkey.

The Florida pitchers who struck out 48 Wake Forest batters in three super-regional games, including 23 in the 11-inning opener.

The four-time national champions who have won a title once in each of the past four decades — Cal State Fullerton. Nothing this decade yet, so maybe the Titans are due. But...

Nevada baseball: Keaton Smith hits walk-off homer to complete sweep over No. 2 Oregon State

On the first pitch in the bottom of the 10th inning, senior Keaton Smith blasted a home run over the left field wall to give Nevada a 7-6 walk-off victory over defending national champion No. 2 Oregon State on Tuesday afternoon.

College baseball scores: Nevada walks off on No. 2 Oregon State in epic 12-inning marathon

Against the defending national champions on Monday night, Nevada (22-18) clawed its way to a dramatic 8-7 walkoff win in the 12th inning over No. 2 ranked Oregon State (28-9-1). It was the first time Nevada won against a top-10 team since defeating No. 6 ranked Clemson 7-5 in 2017.

College baseball rankings: Pac-12 trio of UCLA, Oregon State and Stanford leads the way

UCLA remains No. 1 for the sixth straight week in the D1 Baseball Top 25, powered by Louisville Slugger, and leads a trio of Pac-12 Conference teams at the top of the rankings. Oregon State follows UCLA at No. 2, and Stanford completes the trifecta.
Division I
College World Series
June 15-26, 2019
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners