baseball-d1 flag

North Dakota State Athletics | February 23, 2018

North Dakota State's Riley Johnson throws first no-hitter of 2018 season

  Johnson struck out eight hitters Friday, securing the Bison's first no-hitter since 2004.

PUNTA GORDA, Fla. –– Riley Johnson tossed the first solo no-hitter of the 2018 college baseball season as the North Dakota State University baseball team posted a 2-0 shutout victory over Central Connecticut State Friday, Feb. 23, at South County Regional Park in the opening game of the Snowbird Baseball Classic.

NCAA Baseball


A sophomore right-hander from Apple Valley, Minn., Johnson became the first Bison to throw a solo no-hitter since Jay Mitchell accomplished the feat against Augustana (S.D.) during the 2004 season. Former NDSU baseball players Chad Berg and Chris Paterson pitched a combined no-hitter at Creighton in 2008.

Johnson struck out a career-high eight batters and tallied just one walk in his nine no-hit innings, improving to 2-0 on the season.

The Bison (3-2) and Blue Devils (0-1) were locked in a pitching battle until Drew Fearing broke through for NDSU in the bottom of the third inning.

Matt Elsenpeter reached on an error with one out in the inning and advanced to second on a walk issued to Alec Abercrombie. Fearing scored Elsenpeter on a two-out RBI single, giving North Dakota State a 1-0 lead.

MORE: Meet Wichita States 'Bash Brothers 2.0' | Polls

NDSU doubled its advantage to 2-0 in the bottom of the eighth when Elsenpeter worked a bases loaded walk, plating Jayse McLean.

Johnson capped-off the game with a strikeout, foul out and ground out, sealing the win for the Bison.

The victory marked the 250th career win for 11th season NDSU head coach Tod Brown.

North Dakota State is scheduled to face Central Connecticut State in Game 2 of the three-game series Saturday, Feb. 24, at 3 p.m. ET at North Charlotte Regional Park in Port Charlotte, Fla.

Spencer Lee's pin streak continues and every other college wrestling story to know right now

Here's nearly everything that happened this weekend in college wrestling and what it means as we inch closer to conference tournaments.

9 winningest FCS teams in college football history

Here are the nine FCS football programs with the most all-time wins.

NFL teams with FCS football players on their 2020 rosters

Every NFL team has at least one former FCS player on its active 53-man roster.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 19-30, 2021
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners