baseball-d1 flag

Andrew Cyr | | February 24, 2018

Joe DeMers throws first perfect game in Washington history

  DeMers' perfect game was the first in Washington history, and just the 27th in Division I dating back to 1957.

What a month of February it's been for college baseball pitchers in 2018.

Just one day after North Dakota State's Riley Johnson threw the first no-hitter of the season, Washington's Joe DeMers followed with a perfect game in a 2-0 win over UC Riverside Saturday afternoon at Husky Ballpark in Game 1 of a doubleheader. The perfect game was the first in school history, and just the fifth in Pac-12 history.

DeMers struck out nine batters while retiring 12 by way of the groundout and only six by flyout. He recorded all 27 outs on an efficient 84 pitches. 

According to Washington Athletics, DeMers' outing was the first no-hitter for the Huskies since a combined no-hitter in 2006 pitched by Tim Lincecum and Nick Hagadone. 

COLLEGE BASEBALL: Get to know Wichita State's 'Bash Bros. 2.0'

DeMers has yet to allow an earned run through 15 innings pitched this season.

Dating back to 1959, there had been 26 perfect games thrown in Division I baseball before Saturday, and it's only fitting that DeMers makes No. 27. Check out the full list:

Feb. 24, 2018 Joe DeMers Washington vs. UC Riverside
March 25, 2017 Cory Abbott Loyola Marymount vs. BYU
March 11, 2016 Jesse Scholtens Wright State vs. Dayton
March 21, 2015 Drew Rasmussen Oregon State vs. Washington State
March 4, 2014 Javi Salas Miami (Fla.) vs. Villanova
March 29, 2011 Will Roberts Virginia vs. George Washington
April 9, 2003 Greg Prenger Ohio State vs. Oakland (7 innings)
March 2, 2002 Eric Brandon Auburn vs. Murray State
April 29, 2000 Chad Blackwell Iowa vs. Northwestern (7 innings)
April 26, 1997 John Stewart Western Mich. vs. Akron (7 innings)
April 13, 1996 Chris McConnell St. Francis (NY) vs. Marist
April 30, 1991 Jason Johnson Auburn vs. LaGrange (7 innings)
May 3, 1987 Mark Bowlan Memphis vs. Louisville
March 14, 1987 Kevin Sheary Miami (Fla.) vs. Southern Illinois
May 3, 1980 Cliff Faust Nebraska vs. Kansas (7 innings)
April 19, 1980 Joe Housey New Orleans vs. Southeastern La. (7 innings)
March 10, 1973 Joe McIntosh Washington St. vs. Whitworth (7 innings)
March 20, 1972 Jim Jacobsen Oklahoma St. vs. Houston (5 innings)
April 17, 1971 Bill Balfoort Buffalo vs. Rochester (NY) (7 innings)
March 26, 1971 Larry Angell Washington St. vs. Eastern Wash. (7 innings)
March 22, 1968 Rick Austin Washington St. vs. Gonzaga (7 innings)
May 5, 1967 Bruce Baudier LSU vs. Alabama (7 innings)
1967 Larry Gonsalves Fresno St. vs. Cal Poly
April 20, 1965 Bob Schauenberg Iowa vs. Central (Iowa)
April 20, 1965 George Dugan Murray St. vs. Austin Peay
May 3, 1963 Don Woeltjen Georgia vs. Georgia Tech
April 10, 1959 Dick Reitz Maryland vs. Johns Hopkins