baseball-d1 flag

Andrew Cyr | | May 28, 2018

2018 baseball championship: DI selections announced

The College World Series is near

INDIANAPOLIS – The field of 64 teams competing for the 2018 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

NCAA Baseball


The national top 16 seeds are Florida (42-17), Stanford (44-10), Oregon St. (44-10-1), Ole Miss (46-15), Arkansas (39-18), North Carolina (38-18), Florida St. (43-17), Georgia (37-19), Texas Tech (39-17), Clemson (45-14), Stetson (45-11), East Carolina (43-16), Texas (37-20), Minnesota (41-13), Coastal Carolina (42-17 and NC State (40-16).  

COLLEGE WORLD SERIES: Full list of automatic qualifiers | Bracket  | More CWS info

The 16 regional hosts were announced Sunday night. The complete list of regional hosts are as follows: 

  • Athens, Georgia – Georgia (37-19)
  • Austin, Texas – Texas (37-20)
  • Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (38-18)
  • Clemson, South Carolina – Clemson (45-14)
  • Corvallis, Oregon – Oregon St. (44-10-1)
  • Conway, South Carolina – Coastal Carolina (42-17)
  • DeLand, Florida – Stetson (45-11)
  • Fayetteville, Arkansas – Arkansas (39-18)
  • Gainesville, Florida – Florida (42-17)
  • Greenville, North Carolina – East Carolina (43-16)
  • Minneapolis, Minnesota ­– Minnesota (41-13)
  • Lubbock, Texas – Texas Tech (39-17)
  • Oxford, Mississippi – Ole Miss (46-15)
  • Raleigh, North Carolina – NC State (40-16)
  • Stanford, California – Stanford (44-10)
  • Tallahassee, Florida – Florida St. (43-17)


The Southeastern Conference (SEC) leads the way with 10 teams selected, while the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has six participants in the field. The Big 12 Conference have five participants in the field followed by the American Athletic Conference, Big Ten Conference and Pac-12 Conference with four each in the field. The other multiple bid conferences: Atlantic Sun, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Missouri Valley Conference, Ohio Valley Conference and Sun Belt Conference, all have two teams each.  

Hartford is making its first appearance in the championship in 2018.  LIU Brooklyn is in the tournament for the first time since 1972, while Northeastern earns its first bid since 2003 and N.C. A&T is in for the first time since 2005.

Florida State now has the longest consecutive streak with its 41st straight appearance, with Rice’s streak of appearances ending at 23 and Virginia at 14.  The other consecutive streaks of 20 or more, includes Cal State Fullerton (27).

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Tuesday, June 5 at approximately 8 a.m. (ET). The 72nd Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 16, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Southeastern 10 (Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU, Mississippi St., Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt)
Atlantic Coast 6 (Clemson, Duke, Florida St., Louisville, NC State, North Carolina)
Big 12 5 (Baylor, Oklahoma, Oklahoma St., Texas, Texas Tech)
American Athletic 4 (East Carolina, Houston, South Fla., UConn)
Big Ten 4 (Indiana, Minnesota, Ohio St., Purdue)
Pac-12 4 (Oregon St., Stanford, UCLA, Washington)
Atlantic Sun 2 (Jacksonville, Stetson)
Conference USA 2 (Fla. Atlantic, Southern Miss.)
Colonial 2 (Northeastern, UNCW)
Missouri Valley 2 (DBU, Missouri St.)
Ohio Valley 2 (Morehead St., Tennessee Tech)
Sun Belt 2 (Coastal Caro., Troy)
America East 1 (Hartford)
Atlantic-10 1 (Saint Louis)
Big East 1 [St. John’s (NY)]
Big South 1 (Campbell)
Big West 1 (Cal St. Fullerton)
Horizon 1 (Wright St.)
Ivy 1 (Columbia)
Metro Atlantic 1 (Canisius)
Mid-American 1 (Kent St.)
Mid-Eastern 1 (N.C. A&T)
Mountain West 1 (San Diego St.)
Northeast 1 (LIU Brooklyn)
Patriot 1 (Army West Point)
Southern 1 (Samford)
Southland 1 (Northwestern St.)
Southwestern 1 (Texas Southern)
Summit 1 (Oral Roberts)
West Coast 1 (Gonzaga)
Western Athletic 1 (New Mexico St.)

The regional format for the DI baseball championship is a double-elimination tournament format with the winning 16 teams advancing to Super Regionals, which will be held from June 8-11. The top eight teams remaining will host the Super Regionals on-campus in a best-of-three series with the eight winners advancing to Omaha.

The College World Series will be held from June 16-26/27 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska. The eight Super Regional winners will compete in two four-team double elimination brackets. The two winning teams from each bracket will play in a best two-of-three championship series to determine the national champion. 

For more information on the 2018 College World Series click here. Single game, packages, hospitality and all other ticket information can be found here.

MORE: How much does home field advantage help? | Best teams that haven't won a CWS

Last year, Florida swept LSU in two games to win the 2017 College World Series. A full list of previous winners can be found here.

For complete scores, updates and coverage throughout the 2018 Division I baseball championship, visit

The 60 Cy Young Award winners who played college baseball

With the presentation of the 2023 Cy Young Award on Wednesday, Nov. 15, we've accumulated a list of 60 MLB Cy Young Award winners who played college baseball. One Cy Young standout from each decade will be featured and include a brief summary of their college career.

Which players have won both a College World Series and an MLB World Series?

Former Virginia standout Josh Sborz is the most recent player to have won both a College World Series and MLB World Series.

College baseball careers of 2023 World Series players

28 players in the 2023 World Series played college baseball. Here's where all 28 played college baseball, and some notable stats from the biggest names.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 14 - 24, 2024
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners