baseball-d1 flag

Andy Wittry | | June 22, 2018

The College World Series champions that almost no one saw coming

Mississippi State and the rally banana

Mississippi State is just one win away from reaching the College World Series finals after defeating North Carolina 12-2 on Tuesday, behind freshman Jordan Westburg's CWS-record-tying seven RBI.

With just 39 wins this season, the Bulldogs are on the verge of potentially becoming one of the more unlikely College World Series finalists in recent memory.

RELATED: From banana phone to CWS record books, MSU's Westburg answers the call

Remember, this is a team that started the season 16-16 and entered the NCAA tournament 31-25. If Mississippi State wins its next game (against the winner of North Carolina and Oregon State), the Bulldogs could set themselves up to have the lowest season win total for a national champion since Southern California (43-12-1) in 1968.

Since '68, the average win total for the DI baseball national champion is 52.9, led by Wichita State's 68 wins in 1989. In the last 50 years, just 14 national champions have had less than 50 wins and four of those came before 1980, when the college baseball season featured fewer games than it does today.

Here's a list of some of the most unexpected national champions in the last 50 years. The basis of the list is teams that won less than 50 games and were not a No. 1 seed (since 1987, when the championship expanded to 48 teams, before later expanding to 64).

Year School Seed Wins Record Entering NCAA Tournament Notes
2015 Virginia No. 3 44 34-22 Had five losing streaks of at least three games during the season
2008 Fresno State No. 4 47 37-27 Started the season 8-12; Ended the regular season 7-10 in final 17 games
2007 Oregon State No. 3 49 38-17 Went 4-8 in May; Became the first No. 3 seed to win title in 64-team format
2004 Cal State Fullerton No. 2 47 36-20 Started the season 15-16
1992 Pepperdine No. 3 48 40-10-1 Seeded seventh out of eight teams in the College World Series
1988 Stanford No. 2 46 37-21 Seeded seventh out of eight teams in the College World Series

Arkansas, North Carolina, Texas and Texas Tech each entered this year's College World Series with the opportunity to win the national championship while having fewer than 50 wins on the year, but all four schools were No. 1 seeds, ruling them out from being considered a "surprise national champion."

Mississippi State was a No. 2 seed this year and Washington was a No. 3 seed, making them the underdogs in Omaha.

RELATED: A meteorologist's busy week in Omaha

Note: The NCAA Division I Baseball Championship format has changed over the years. The tournament expanded to 48 teams in '87 and later grew to 64 teams in 1999.

Also: Southern California won five consecutive national championships from 1970 to 1974 and 10 in 21 years from 1958 to 1978, so it's difficult to classify the Trojans as a surprise champion when they were in the midst of a two-decade dynasty that has since been unmatched in college baseball. College baseball teams also played fewer games in the '70s than they do now – USC's 43 wins in a 56-game season in 1968 are 15 fewer total games played than 2017 national champion Florida played last season.

2022 SEC baseball tournament: Final bracket, schedule, scores

See the final 2022 SEC baseball bracket and all scores from the 12-team competition in Hoover, Ala., at the Hoover Metropolitan Stadium. No. 1 Tennessee defeated Florida, 8-5, in the conference championship game.

NCAA Video Vault: The dramatic end of UConn's 111-game streak in 2017 Final Four

Relive Mississippi State's epic win over UConn in the 2017 Final Four, where the Huskies' 111-game winning streak came to an end.

Mississippi State is women's basketball Team of the Week after two shorthanded wins

After going 2-0 on the week and improving to 11-4 overall, the Mississippi State Bulldogs are's women's basketball Team of the Week.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 28, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners