baseball-d1 flag

Andy Wittry | | June 29, 2018

Oregon St. is latest school to drop first CWS game but win title

Oregon State wins the College World Series

Oregon State capped off an impressive national championship run Thursday night at the College World Series with a 5-0 win in Game 3 against Arkansas. It was the Beavers' sixth straight victory when facing elimination in Omaha this month as they became just the 12th national champion to lose its first game in the CWS before winning the title.

In the 72 NCAA Division I Baseball Championships held since the tournament started in 1947, just over 15 percent of national champions have overcome an opening-round loss. Oregon State became the first champion to do so since South Carolina in 2010.

RELATED: Shop Oregon State CWS champ gear | Interactive bracket 

Here's Oregon State's path to the national championship.

Oregon State:


RELATED: Recapping OSU's College World Series win | Highlights and top videos

Here's a list of national champions that lost their first game at the College World Series.

Year School First Game of College World Series
2018 Oregon State L, North Carolina 8-6
2010 South Carolina L, Oklahoma 4-3
2006 Oregon State L, Miami (FL) 11-1
1998 Southern California L, LSU 12-10
1980 Arizona L, St. John's 6-1
1979 Cal State Fullerton L, Mississippi State 6-1
1976 Arizona L, Arizona State 7-6
1970 Southern California L, Ohio 4-1
1963 Southern California L, Texas 8-3
1958 Southern California L, Holy Cross 3-0
1950 Texas L, Rutgers, 4-2