baseball-d1 flag

Wayne Staats | | June 11, 2019

What's happened each time a conference sends 4 teams to the CWS

Auburn heads to CWS after a 14-7 win over North Carolina

The SEC might be making this a habit. For the second time in five years, the conference is sending four teams to Omaha and the College World Series. In the history of the NCAA baseball tournament, a conference has sent four teams to the College World Series in one year only five times — and the SEC is responsible for four of those times.

The conference started with 10 teams in the NCAA baseball tournament field and is now sending four teams to the 2019 College World Series to make up half the field: Arkansas, Auburn, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt. Three reached as Super Regional hosts (Razorbacks, Bulldogs and Commodores). Auburn is in the CWS for the first time since 1997. The Tigers were the No. 2 seed in the Atlanta Regional, where they swept through the competition in three games, including No. 3 national seed Georgia Tech. In the Super Regionals, Auburn upset No. 14 national seed North Carolina, routing the Tar Heels 14-7 in Game 3.

The SEC West has an even better claim: Three division teams are heading to Omaha.

Here's the complete list of four-team conference appearances at the CWS:

  • SEC in 2019: Arkansas, Auburn, Mississippi State, Vanderbilt
  • SEC in 2015: Arkansas, Florida, LSU, Vanderbilt
  • ACC in 2006: Clemson, Georgia Tech, Miami (FL), North Carolina
  • SEC in 2004: Arkansas, Georgia, LSU, South Carolina
  • SEC in 1997: Alabama, Auburn, LSU, Mississippi State

Arkansas and LSU are the only teams in the country to be part of such a group three different times. This year, the Razorbacks are the lone representative on one four-team bracket in Omaha; Auburn, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt are with Louisville in the other.

This is only the second time a conference will have three teams in one bracket in the CWS. In 2006, the ACC had Clemson, Georgia Tech and North Carolina in one bracket. The Tar Heels made it to the CWS Finals, losing to Oregon State.

CWS 2019: Full tournament bracket | Printable CWS bracket | CWS info & tickets | Shop latest CWS gear

By sending four teams, these conferences have a 50-percent chance of winning the title, at least by the raw numbers (not counting matchups, seeding, etc.). Yet LSU's title in 1997 is the only instance one of those four-team CWS conferences ended up winning it all. The Tigers beat SEC rival Alabama in the Final, too.

Here's how the conferences have done each four-team year.

Year ConF. Teams Overall CWS record Vs. Conf. Vs. Others Deepest run
2019 SEC Arkansas;
Miss. St.;
2015 SEC Arkansas;
8-8 0-0 8-8 Vanderbilt; Runner-up
2006 ACC Clemson;
Georgia Tech;
Miami (FL);
North Carolina
6-8 2-2 4-6 North Carolina; Runner-up
2004 SEC Arkansas;
South Carolina
5-8 1-0 4-8 Georgia, South Carolina; Semifinals
1997 SEC Alabama;
Miss. St.;
10-6 3-3 7-3 LSU;

Along with being part of an SEC party in Omaha, Arkansas has another piece of history it hopes to join this year.

In 2014, Virginia lost to Vanderbilt in the CWS Finals to fall one game short of a national title. But the Cavaliers made it back to the CWS the next year. In 2015, Virginia knocked off Vanderbilt for the crown.

Arkansas lost a heartbreaker to Oregon State in the CWS Finals a year ago. Now the Razorbacks are the first runner-up to return to Omaha the following season since those 2014-15 Virginia teams.

SHOP CWS GEAR: Florida State | Louisville | Michigan | Mississippi State | Texas Tech | Vanderbilt

Notable college baseball players who starred in the Little League World Series

Hundreds of schools across three divisions of NCAA baseball have fielded teams for numerous years, making it difficult to pinpoint every athlete that's participated on a college program and in the LLWS. But though this compilation isn't comprehensive, we've put together a list of some of the most notable players who stepped on the collegiate and LLWS baseball diamond at some point in their careers.

Former college baseball players who have won the MLB Home Run Derby

Here are all former college baseball players who have won the MLB Home Run Derby.

Here are the DII baseball players selected in the 2023 MLB Draft

This year, 14 DII baseball alum were selected in the draft. Here is each player and what MLB organization they landed with.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 14 - 24, 2024
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners