baseball-d1 flag

Anthony Chiusano | | June 25, 2019

The 25 NCAA baseball champions who went undefeated in College World Series play

College World Series memorable moments

The College World Series uses a double-elimination format, which means there's at least some margin for error for each of the eight qualifying teams.

Only 25 NCAA baseball national champions in 73 years of the College World Series, or 34 percent, have gone undefeated in the tournament en route to clinching a CWS title. The last time it happened was in 2013 when UCLA swept through the bracket.

CWS 2019: Full tournament bracket | Printable CWS bracket | CWS info & tickets | Shop latest CWS gear

Here are the 25 national champions to win every game during their College World Series championship runs:

year school record in cws
2013 UCLA (49-17) 5-0
2012 Arizona (48-17) 5-0
2011 South Carolina (55-14) 5-0
2007 Oregon State (49-18) 5-0
2005 Texas (56-16) 5-0
2002 Texas (57-15) 4-0
2001 Miami (Fla.) (53-12) 4-0
2000 LSU (52-17) 4-0
1999 Miami (Fla.) (50-13) 4-0
1997 LSU (57-13) 4-0
1996 LSU (52-15) 4-0
1995 Cal State Fullerton (57-9) 4-0
1994 Oklahoma (50-17) 4-0
1992 Pepperdine (48-11-1) 4-0
1991 LSU (55-18) 4-0
1983 Texas (66-14) 5-0
1982 Miami (Fla.) (55-17-1) 5-0
1978 Southern California (54-9) 5-0
1973 Southern California (51-11) 5-0
1968 Southern California (43-12-1) 5-0
1961 Southern California (36-7) 5-0
1957 California (35-10) 5-0
1951 Oklahoma (19-9) 4-0
1949 Texas (23-7) 3-0
1947 California (31-10) 2-0

CWS HISTORY: Here are the 11 teams to win the title after losing their first games in the CWS

Twelve different schools have accomplished this feat, led by LSU, Texas and USC, who have each done so four times. 

The College World Series format has shifted a couple times over the tournament's 73-year history, which accounts for the difference in minimum number of games played for the above champions. Here's a brief timeline of changes to the CWS bracket layout:


Eight teams were selected to the inaugural NCAA tournament field, split into two four-team brackets played with single elimination. The two advancing teams advanced to the College World Series, a best-of-three final series.


The only change in Year 2 was making the two original four-team brackets play in double-elimination. Once again, the final two teams advanced to the College World Series, a best-of-three series.


The College World Series field was expanded to four teams, played in double-elimination format.


The modern eight-team CWS field was introduced. It stayed in a double-elimination format through the final series.


The eight-team field was split into two four-team brackets. The winner of each quadrant advanced to a one-game championship matchup to decide the national title.


The current format's only change was making the championship series a best-of-three series between the two winners of each half of the bracket. This means a team can lose twice — once in bracket play, once in the final series — and still win the title.

NCAA women's basketball: Arizona is our Team of the Week after statement win over Texas

Fresh off of a season that saw the Arizona close on a historic run to the WNIT title, the Wildcats have continued that momentum, darting out to a 4-0 start in the 2019-20 season.

6 potential Naismith Player of the Year candidates for women's college basketball

We take a look at Sabrina Ionescu, Kaila Charles, Chennedy Carter and others who could potentially win the 2020 Naismith Women's Basketball Player of the Year Award.

College wrestling: Penn State tops 2019-2020 preseason national rankings

The Nittany Lions start the year in the same place the ended last season: in the No. 1 spot. Iowa, Ohio State, Oklahoma State and Nebraska round out the Top 5.
Division I
College World Series
June 13-23/24, 2020
TD Ameritrade Park | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners