baseball-d1 flag

Stan Becton | | June 30, 2022

States with the most Men's College World Series titles

Every home run from the 2022 Men's College World Series

Here are the states with the most Men's College World Series titles:

  • California leads all states with 23 championships.
  • The state of Arizona has won nine titles.
  • Texas has seven titles across the state.
  • Louisiana has won six titles, all from LSU.
  • Florida has the fifth most championships among all states with five.
  • Four states — Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon and South Carolina — have won three titles.
  • Three states have won two titles as Mississippi joined Michigan and Tennessee with Ole Miss' 2022 championship.
  • Seven states — Georgia, Kansas, Massachusetts, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio and Virginia — have won one title

Here's more on each state:

23 — California

California leads all states for the most Men's College World Series titles, paced by Southern California's 12 titles, the most of any school. The state is also home to the first-ever Men's College World Series winner in 1947 as California won its first of two titles. Elsewhere, Cal State Fullerton won four titles and Stanford won back-to-back titles from 1987-88. UCLA, Fresno State and Pepperdine round out The Golden State's championships with one title each.

HISTORY: Coaches with most CWS wins | Schools with the most appearances | Conferences most represented

9 — Arizona

The state of Arizona has won nine titles with Arizona State leading its southern neighbor Arizona 5-4 in titles. Each program has won 50 percent of its appearances in championship finals, with the Wildcats bringing home the most recent title in 2012 back to The Grand Canyon State.

7 — Texas

Texas' seven Men's College World Series titles have primarily been won by the Texas Longhorns, who have won six total. The Longhorns won the first-ever Men's College World Series title in Omaha in 1949. Since then, they have as many national runners-up finishes in the College World Series finals as titles. Adding to The Lone Star State's title collection is Rice, winning the 2003 title.

MORE HISTORY: Players that have won both a CWS and MLB World Series

6 — Louisiana

Every Men's College World Series title in the state of Louisiana has been won by the LSU Tigers. The Tigers are tied for the second-most titles of any program, winning most recently in 2009. 

5 — Florida

The Sunshine State has won five titles in its state history, led by Miami (FL.)'s four titles. The Hurricanes have won four of its six trips to the finals, including a win over in-state rival Florida State in 1999. The Florida Gators won the most recent title among Sunshine State programs, winning the 2017 title. 

ALL-TIME NINES: Southern California | Texas | LSU | Arizona State | Arizona | Miami

Here's a complete list of the College World Series championship wins by state:

No. of Titles State
23 California
9 Arizona
7 Texas
6 Louisiana
5 Florida
3 Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina
2 Michigan, Mississippi, Tennessee
1 Georgia, Kansas, Massachusetts, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, Virginia

Action clock modifications and other rule changes in college baseball

To improve pace of play, pitchers in college baseball can make only one step-off or fake throw per batter.

The Golden Spikes Award: The ultimate guide

Here's a complete look at the Golden Spikes Award, which has been awarded annually to the best amateur baseball player in the country since 1978.

Former college baseball players who have won the MLB Home Run Derby

Here are all former college baseball players who have won the MLB Home Run Derby.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 28, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners