baseball-d1 flag

USA Baseball | February 10, 2023

USA Baseball reveals 2023 Golden Spikes Award preseason watch list

2023 college baseball season preview with D1Baseball's Aaron Fitt and Kendall Rogers

CARY, N.C. — USA Baseball today revealed the Golden Spikes Award Preseason Watch List, kicking off the process of identifying the nation’s top amateur baseball player for the 2023 season.

The 2023 preseason list includes 55 athletes from the ranks of high school and college baseball. Moving forward, the Golden Spikes Award Advisory Board will maintain the award’s watchlist on a rolling basis, allowing athletes to play themselves into consideration for the award based on their performances throughout the season.

“We are thrilled to begin the amateur baseball season with the announcement of the fifty-five-player Golden Spikes Award Preseason Watch List,” said USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO Paul Seiler. “The student-athletes on this list are some of the nation’s best and brightest, both on and off the field. We look forward to watching them compete in what will surely be an exciting baseball season.”

Ten members of the 2023 Preseason Watch List have been named Golden Spikes Award semifinalists before, including Dylan Crews (LSU), who also appeared on the 2022 preseason and midseason lists. In addition, fellow 2022 semifinalist Tommy White (LSU) and 2021 semifinalist Paul Skenes (LSU) are also on the preseason list to begin the season, touting LSU as the only school with three former Golden Spikes Award semifinalists on its roster.

Carlos Contreras (Sam Houston), Kendal Ewell (Kentucky), Jake Gelof (Virginia), Ryan Lasko (Rutgers), and Jacob Wilson (Grand Canyon) join Crews and White as position players from the group of last year’s semifinalists to earn Preseason Watch List honors in 2023. Meanwhile, pitchers Chase Burns (Tennessee) and Tanner Hall (Southern Miss) also locked in spots on the preseason list after being named semifinalists in 2022.

PRESEASON RANKINGS: D1Baseball's top 25 before opening day

Burns is one of three Volunteers pitchers on the list, joining Drew Beam (Tennessee) and Chase Dollander (Tennessee). The trio also appeared together on the 2022 midseason list.

In addition to Beam, Burns, and Dollander, seven other players from the 2022 Midseason Watch List are on this year’s initial list. Enrique Bradfield Jr. (Vanderbilt), Contreras, Crews, Gelof, Jack Hurley (Virginia Tech), Nolan Schanuel (FAU), and Wilson were all on last season’s midseason list, while Bradfield, Crews, Jacob Gonzalez (Ole Miss), Tre’ Morgan (LSU), Skenes, and Brayden Taylor (TCU) all earned spots on the preseason list for the second straight year.

name position school
Jeremy Adorno RHP Southern Arkansas
Maui Ahuna SS Tennessee
Drew Beam RHP Tennessee
Enrique Bradfield Jr. OF Vanderbilt
Chase Burns RHP Tennessee
Michael Carico C Davidson
Max Clark INF Franklin High School
Carlos Contreras OF Sam Houston State
Dylan Crews OF LSU
Wyatt Crowell LHP Florida State
Chase Davis OF Arizona
Chase Dollander RHP Tennessee
Hunter Elliot LHP Ole Miss
Kendal Ewell OF Kentucky
Jake Gelof INF Virginia
Evan Giordano 3B Stony Brook
Jacob Gonzalez INF Ole Miss
Joseph Gonzalez RHP Auburn
LuJames Groover III INF NC State
Tanner Hall RHP Southern Miss
Carter Holton LHP Vanderbilt
Vance Honeycutt OF North Carolina
Jack Hurley OF Virginia Tech
Mitch Jebb INF Michigan State
Walter Jenkins OF South Brunswick High School
Kennedy Jones INF/OF UNC Greensboro
Caden Kendle OF UC Irvine
Sam Kulasingam INF Air Force
Nick Kurtz INF/OF Wake Forest
Wyatt Langford OF Florida
Ryan Lasko OF Rutgers
Rhett Lowder RHP Wake Forest
Quinn Mathews LHP Stanford
Nolan McLean OF/INF/RHP Oklahoma State
John Michael Faile II C North Greenville
Braden Montgomery OF/RHP Stanford
Yohandy Morales INF Miami (Fla.)
Tre' Morgan 1B LSU
Jack Payton C Louisville
Carson Roccaforte 1B/OF Louisiana
Will Sanders RHP South Carolina
Jason Savacool RHP Maryland
Nolan Schanuel INF/OF FAU
Cody Schrier INF UCLA
Matt Shaw INF Maryland
Paul Skeenes UTIL/RHP LSU
Bobby Sparling OF Saint Leo
Brayden Taylor INF TCU
Kyle Teel C/INF Virginia
Tommy Troy INF/OF Stanford
Hurston Waldrep RHP Florida
Juaron Watts-Brown RHP Oklahoma State
Levi Wells RHP Texas State
Tommy White 3B LSU
Jacob Wilson INF Grand Canyon

Five athletes on this year’s Preseason Watch List will seek to become the third non-NCAA Division I player to win the Golden Spikes Award. Jeremy Adorno (Southern Arkansas), John Michael Faile II (North Greenville), and Bobby Sparling (Saint Leo) each represent NCAA Division II collegiate athletes on the list, joined by high schoolers Max Clark (Franklin High School) and Walker Jenkins (South Brunswick High School). Currently, Alex Fernandez (1990) and Bryce Harper (2010) are the only players from a non-NCAA Division I school to win the award.

In total, 40 schools and 16 conferences are represented on this year’s Preseason Watch List. LSU and Tennessee lead all schools with four student-athletes appearing on the list, followed closely by Stanford with three. Seven other schools placed a pair of selections to begin their seasons: Florida, Maryland, Oklahoma State, Ole Miss, Vanderbilt, Virginia, and Wake Forest.

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) boasts 17 athletes on the 55-player list, followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) with 10, five from the Pac-12 Conference, and four from the Big Ten Conference.

Texas’ Ivan Melendez is the most recent winner of the Golden Spikes Award, earning the prestigious honor after a standout campaign in 2022. He joins a group of recent winners, including Kevin Kopps (2021), Adley Rutschman (2019), Andrew Vaughn (2018), Brendan McKay (2017), Kyle Lewis (2016), Andrew Benintendi (2015), A.J. Reed (2014), Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009), Buster Posey (2008) and David Price (2007).

POSITION RANKINGS: Top 10 catchers | Top 10 first basemen

The 2023 Golden Spikes Award timeline is as follows:

April 5: Golden Spikes Award Midseason Watch List announced
May 22: Golden Spikes Award semifinalists announced and fan voting begins
June 5: Golden Spikes Award semifinalists fan voting ends
June 7: Golden Spikes Award finalists announced and fan voting begins
June 21: Golden Spikes Award finalists fan voting ends
June 25: Golden Spikes Award winner announced

Fan voting will again play a part in the Golden Spikes Award in 2023. Amateur baseball fans can vote for their favorite players on, beginning on May 22 with the naming of the semifinalists. USA Baseball will announce the finalists for the award on June 7, and fan voting will once again open at before closing on June 21.

To stay up to date on the 2023 Golden Spikes Award, visit and follow @USAGoldenSpikes on Instagram and Twitter.

Millersville, Wigate return to the latest DII baseball Power 10 rankings

Once again, the DII baseball Power 10 rankings have a new look. Here are Wayne Cavadi's latest top teams in the division.

Boston College and more enter D1Baseball's rankings in top 25 shake up

Six new teams Boston College, Miami, Missouri, Kentucky, West Virginia and Grand Canyon entered D1Baseball's rankings to shake up the top 25.

Here are the top SEC storylines to know as we lean into conference play

Conference play just started, and D1Baseball's Kendall Rogers takes us through the top storylines in the SEC so far this season.
Division I
Baseball Championship
June 16 - 26, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners