baseball-d1 flag | May 21, 2014

Statitudes: Best numbers from Week 14

0 Texas' Dillon Peters and Morgan Cooper combined for a no-hitter in a 12-0 rout of Kansas State Friday night. In his first start since April 26, Peters pitched seven innings and struck out eight. Cooper followed with two hitless innings to close out Texas' first no-hitter since Brandon Workman threw one on March 1, 2009.

Cal Poly clinched its first Big West Conference championship with a 3-2 victory against Cal State Northridge on Sunday at Matador Field.


Four pitchers combined on Michigan's first shutout of the season as the Wolverines blanked Kansas 4-0 Sunday afternoon on Senior Day at the Wilpon Complex, home of Ray Fisher Stadium. All five UM seniors contributed to the win in the regular-season finale.


Indiana's pitching staff did not allow a team to score more than four runs against them and finished with a staff ERA of 1.53 in conference action. That ERA is the lowest by a Big Ten team in conference action since 1965 (Iowa - 1.17).


Jackson State won its second consecutive and 16th overall Southwestern Athletic Conference championship with a 9-8 victory against Alabama State Sunday evening. The win also marks the fourth time JSU has won back-to-back league titles. JSU last repeated 1994 and 1995.


ACC Player of the Year DJ Stewart of Florida State led the league or tied for the league lead in five seperate offensive categories.


Miami's Chris Diaz posted a perfect 9-0 record during the regular season. The Hurricanes didn't lose any of his 14 starts this year.


Wake Forest beat No. 1 Virginia 4-3 on Saturday. Wake Forest won a series against a top-ranked team for the first time since taking two-of-three against No. 1 Florida State in 2000. It was also the first ACC series that Virginia has lost this season.


Duke defeated Florida State 7-5 on Saturday in Tallahassee. The victory was not only Duke’s first in Tallahassee since 1994 but gave the program its 16th ACC win, tying the school record also set in 1994. 

23 Jeff Gold allowed just one run in six innings to lead Oregon to a 4-1 win against UCLA on Saturday night. Gold won his 23rd career game to tie Alex Keudell (2009-12) for the most wins in the history of the Oregon baseball program. 
40 Sam Houston State won the final 12 league games to claim the title. The 40 overall regular-season wins is the most since the 1987 season. This is just the fourth time that an SHSU team has won 40 or more games at the Division I level.
41 Houston defeated Temple 7-5 on Saturday to end the regular season. With the win, the Cougars finished the regular season with 41 wins, the most regular-season wins since 2002.
52 Arizona State notched the program’s nation-leading 52nd consecutive 30-win season behind a 14-6 victory and three-game series sweep against Utah on Sunday at Packard Stadium in Tempe, Ariz. The baseball program’s streak of 30-win seasons began in 1963 and is two more than the next closest DI team, Florida State. The Sun Devils have never had a losing season in their 56 years, and three head coaches have never won fewer than 30 games.


Division I
Baseball Championship
June 17 - 28, 2023
Charles Schwab Field Omaha | Omaha, NE

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners